Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Can you believe that Thanksgiving is right around the corner??

I certainly can’t. Because that means 2014 is approaching its end. And that we’ve been in California for over three months already. It reminds me that this will be my first Thanksgiving in three years spent without some of my closest friends in Boston, hosting my own special-dietary-needs Friendsgiving. And it will also be my first Thanksgiving in quite a while that I won’t be cooking anything at all, because the boy and I have decided to spend our holiday in Napa, which is actually our very first Thanksgiving spent together. So many firsts, both good and sad, but it means that life is flying by. We are growing, changing, moving forward. Which is certainly better than the alternative.

But, just because I’m not cooking like I’m feeding an army, doesn’t mean you might not be! I thought I would take this opportunity to go back through our archives (we’ve been blogging for almost a YEAR!!), and share with you some oldies but goodies. Creating a Thanksgiving dinner that’s allergen- and special diet-friendly really isn’t as difficult as you might think!

Last year, I roasted my very first turkey (with much consultation from Alton Brown) ((via Google, not in real life)) (((although I have met him, in real life))), with sausage stuffing (vegetarian version reserved and baked separately), and it turned out amazingly well!

IMG_106755419844196

We had (dairy free) mashed potatoes, cornbread, (gluten-free converted) Asian roasted acorn squash, (gluten-free converted) sweet potato casserole, gravy, cranberry sauce, sauteed green beans, banana cream pie, and so many other things I’m forgetting…because I think 4 people have 8 stomachs…the southern in me just can’t let anyone leave with their pants still comfortably buttoned, post food coma.

What’s traditional for you? Or maybe you like to go rogue and not stick to the Thanksgiving givens? Below are a list of recipes we’ve posted here over the past year, with fall vegetables and flavors in mind, though it’s certainly not an exhaustive list of the things we cook for holiday meals. (On multiple occasions, I’ve put all of it together in one glorious gluten-free Turkey Cake. You must try it.)

Hope you are inspired by something here, that you can transform our dishes into something that works for you, and that you have a lovely, satisfying holiday season surrounded by the people that you love.

IMG_106813211771571

Sides:
Baked Sweet Potato Fries
Balsamic Roasted Fennel
Cornbread Stuffed Jalapenos
Savory Sweet Potato Mini Tarts
Spinach and Mushroom Mini Quiches
Stuffing
Turkey Gravy
Veggie Slaw

Meals to share:
Balsamic Veggie Roast
Butternut Squash and Gorgonzola Pasta
Roasted Red Pepper and Butternut Squash Salad
Sausage Stuffed Squash

Dessert:
Apple Pie
Fruit Cobbler
Berry Pie
Gingerbread Quinoa Cake
Molasses Cookies
Southern Pecan Pie
Plum Blackberry Pound Cake
Sweet Potato Doughnut Holes
Wicked Easy Pumpkin Pie

Oh, and check out this link my mom sent me: “11 Best Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Desserts”. I am all over those Salted Butterscotch Blondies.

Happy meal planning, happy eating, and try not to stress. 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving!

