Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

That waffle maker I bought on a whim from Target was seriously the best purchase ever. I want to bake everything in it. I recently saw on a foodnetwork.com kitchen hack video that you can bake cookies in the waffle maker. That’s happening.

But on a more standard note, I wanted to make waffles. The regular breakfast kind. I wanted a simple recipe and I found this one that was worth trying. I had to make a few changes for a dairy-free recipe, and before I knew it I was adding (df) creamer and sprinkles and making funfetti waffles. They were beautiful and delicious. All I needed was some lightly sweetened coconut cream to make these probably the best waffles I’ve ever eaten. Because they taste like crispy cake.

…but I also haven’t eaten very many waffles in my lifetime, so I might not be the best judge. But they’re so cute! So that makes them awesome. 🙂

Birthday Cake Waffles

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup of gf flour blend (3/4 cup of rice flour, 1/3 cup of potato starch, 3 tablespoons of tapioca flour)
1 tablespoon of sugar
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of salt
2 large eggs
1 cup of vanilla dairy-free creamer, like So Delicious
1/2 cup of dairy-free milk (I’m on flax milk these days)
1/2 cup of canola oil
1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
SPRINKLES
Whipped coconut cream for topping (optional)

Preheat your waffle iron.

Whisk together dry ingredients in a large bowl, then add in eggs and wet ingredients (except the 1/2 cup of milk) and stir until thoroughly combined. Slowly whisk in the reserved milk IF NECESSARY. GF flour blends will absorb liquid differently, so these are the amounts that worked for me. It’s ok to have a thin batter, but it shouldn’t be as thin as water.

Cook them up until as crispy as you like. (If you want the sprinkles to be visible on the pretty side, gently drop some sprinkles onto the clean waffle iron and then pour batter over it. You’ll make a little bit of a mess with escaped sprinkles, but it’s worth it.) Slather with whipped cream or syrup. Chow down.

Makes 4.

And they also freeze really well. You can reheat them in the oven, directly on the racks, or in the waffle iron again. I take my waffles to work and eat them with peanut butter and sliced bananas.

