Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A few months ago I entered a dessert baking competition over at the rantingchef.com, and I had a blast coming up with gluten-free recipes and competing against gluten-full desserts. I made it all the way to the finals, and I’m not at all upset that I lost (well, maybe a little, deep down inside). But I think the greatest part was being able to connect with bloggers that I might not ever have found otherwise, and one of them is the awesome lady over at boozesugarandspice.com. You HAVE to go check out her cupcakes. She did this whole Game of Thrones series that is AWESOME. AWESOME. How many more times can I squeeze in AWESOME?

And no, it’s not torture to ask you to look at gluten-full cupcakes, because we can recreate them, like this one, the recipe that I went up against a while back. I’ve been meaning to convert some of her cupcake recipes but have only just now gotten around to it, and I thought this would be the perfect one to test out. This recipe in particular has a combination of butter and oil, that really works well in making a moist but not greasy gluten-free cake, and only a small amount of flour that can easily be swapped out (and I still don’t bake with gums). Because of my lactose issues, I also swapped out the sour cream with greek yogurt, and I sadly left out the mascarpone cheese in the frosting. I’ve made tiramisu before with it, and my stomach cried for days (well, I cried, my stomach expanded to the size of a balloon and I cleared a few rooms, if you know what I mean). Hence the “almost” tiramisu in the title. But you might have a baller stomach that can handle it, in which case go for it.

And finally, I debated the Kahlua. I’ve been going back and forth on this for a while. Common sense says that since it’s supposed to be rum based (a sugar cane product), it should be gluten free. The internet is full of conflicting information, however, and I’ve both taken the safe route by making my own Kahlua and just taken the risk and tried it. In the handful of times that I’ve had Kahlua, nothing happened…so I decided this time to just use it. And I’m still alive right now after eating…”x” number of cupcakes, so I feel ok about it (not so much about the number of cupcakes I ate). I don’t know if anyone else reading wants to weigh in?

Well, anyways, that’s all I’ve got. Here’s the recipe. It’s awesome.

Almost-Tiramisu Cupcakes

Ingredients:
1/4 cup of unsalted butter, softened
1 cup of sugar
2 ounces of semi-sweet (or dark) chocolate chips
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon of canola oil
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 large egg yolks, room temperature
1/3 cup of vanilla greek yogurt
1/2 cup of rice flour
3 tablespoons of potato starch
1 tablespoon of tapioca flour (or sub these 3 dry ingredients for 1 cup of your preferred gf blend)
½ teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 cup of cocoa powder
1/2 cup of Kahlua
3/4 cup of espresso
1 tablespoon of brown sugar
1 tablespoon of dark rum
2 cups of heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup of powdered sugar
Chocolate-covered espresso beans (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 and line a cupcake tin with fancy liners. These cupcakes deserve beautiful vessels.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the sugar. In a microwavable bowl, combine the chocolate chips and the oil, and microwave in 30-second increments, stirring in between, until the chocolate is melted. Once slightly cooled, add to the butter and sugar, then beat in the eggs and yolks one at a time, and then the yogurt.

Also, look at what I found at Costco:

photo 1 (21)

Chocolate chips for life. Or, at least a few months.

Ok. Now add the gf flour(s), the salt, baking soda, and finally the Kahlua (or your homemade version), and mix well to combine (you might notice that I don’t bother sifting…).

Do remember that using an electric beater of some sort is highly recommended in gluten-free baking. You want to incorporate as much air as possible for a lighter end product.

photo 2 (20)

Fill liners (these don’t rise too much), and bake for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Set aside to cool.

photo 3 (18)

I poked a chocolate-covered espresso bean into each one, for a little surprise.

In a cup or small bowl, mix together the espresso, brown sugar, and rum, and brush gently onto each cupcake. I just made about 3 passes, reserving a little for the whipped cream frosting.

Finally, beat the whipping cream, slowly adding in a few tablespoons of the espresso syrup and the powdered sugar (I’m not a fan of sweet frostings, so I skimp here on the sugar), until thick. Frost cupcakes.

Tiramisu Cupcakes

These are bites of rum chocolate heaven.

Almost-Tiramisu Cupcakes

Seriously.

BoozeSugarandSpice. You have to check it out. I’m a HUGE fan and can’t wait to try some more of her recipes!

Linked to Gluten-Free Fridays

