Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I almost always feel like I’m missing out on the latest food trends. Most notably – cronuts. Most recently – waffled things. Like the picture Marco sent me of his waffle sandwich. And everyone’s waffle pizza.

I WANT WAFFLES she pouts and pounds on the table.

So I went to Target. And bought a waffle iron. I was going to make baked ziti for dinner, but I changed my mind. We were going to have waffle pizzas or have nothing at all.

Luckily, the waffle pizza idea worked, because I’m a very hangry individual.

Waffle Pizza

Anywho, all I did was take my Skillet Bread recipe, add some garlic powder and oregano, and put it in a waffle iron! You HAVE to try this!! (It only makes 2 waffles, but you can double the recipe easily for more.)

Ingredients:
1/3 cup of buckwheat flour
1/3 cup of gf flour blend (rice flour, tapioca flour, potato starch)
1 egg
1/3 cup of water
1/3 cup of greek honey-flavored yogurt
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon of oregano
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

Preheat the oven to 425, and prepare a metal cooling rack set over a baking sheet.

Just like before, mix together all the ingredients except the baking soda in a small bowl. Set the bowl aside (for about 5 minutes, bubbles should start to form) while you prep your waffle iron. Add the baking soda to your batter and give it a quick stir.

Waffle Pizza

Pour half of the batter into the waffle iron, and cook to your desired crispiness (which is AWESOME because Marco likes his pizza soft while I like mine thin and crispy). Remove to the cooling rack, and cook the other half of the batter.

Waffle Pizza

Spread a few tablespoons of pizza sauce onto each waffle, followed by your toppings and then cheese. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, or until cheese is browned and AWESOME.

Waffle Pizza

I make my actual pizza crust recipe all the time, at least twice a month, but this is so quick and simple that it will definitely be my new go-to dinner.

Waffle Pizza

How easy was that? What do you like on your little waffle pizzas?

Linked to the Gluten-Free Homemaker’s Gluten-Free Wednesday Carnival.

