Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After my dairy-free-fudge-turned truffle incident, I’ve been making these bad boys at least once a month, experimenting with different flavors. Finally, I realized, why get all messy trying to roll them by hand, when I can make them perfect everytime with chocolate molds??? Finally, I remembered to pick some up from Michael’s, and boy, did that $1.99 really change the look and labor of these truffles!

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

Ain’t they purrty? And no mess! Well, a little mess. But not like before. And these turn out uniform, and look adorable for gift giving. So, even though the recipe is about the same, I still wanted to share these with you, as well as some molding tips, since this was the first time I’d ever tried it.

Ingredients:
1 can coconut milk (full fat)
1/4 cup of honey or agave nectar
1 heaping tablespoon of instant coffee
8 ounces of dark chocolate (dairy free, if need be)
8 ounces of white chocolate, for coating (dairy free, if need be)

In a large saucepan, bring the coconut milk to a boil and then reduce to simmer. Add the coffee and sweetener and stir to dissolve completely.

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

Make some pretty swirls like so.

Let simmer for 30-45 minutes, stirring occasionally, as long as it takes for the liquid to reduce by about half and for the coconut milk to have a thick, syrupy consistency. Then turn off the heat and stir in the dark chocolate, until fully melted.

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

It should be kind of gloopy. Let cool completely, which takes a while.

When the truffle filling is cool enough, prep the white chocolate (I melt it in the microwave on the defrost setting for about a minute) and the mold tray. I found that freezing the tray for a few minutes before starting gave me a better chance of having a cleanly removed batch. Start by “painting” the inside of each mold with the melted white chocolate, using a pastry brush. What’s a pastry brush? I don’t know, that’s what the box said. I found a brand new paint brush in my art box so I used that. I’ll add it to my drawer of strange kitchen items, like the dental floss I use to cut cakes.

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

Then fill with the dark chocolate coffee goop, to just before the top of the mold. Try not to overfill, you’ll also have cleaner removal if you’re able to fully seal the truffle filling with the white chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

Top with more white chocolate and use the “pastry” brush to smooth it over, being sure to seal the edges.

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

Place in the freezer for just a few minutes, you don’t want condensation. Check to see if the tops are cold to the touch, and remove when they are. Tap the contraption on a counter top to remove. Or bang, you might have to bang a little.

Don’t worry, not all of mine came out perfectly. It took me a few batches before I realized the pre-freezing trick. So I’ve got ugly ones and some pretty ones. That just means we’ve got some to eat now and others to save for later, or for gifting.

See? I had to do some spackling on some but they taste the same!

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

And there you have it. I made 4 batches. So that’s 56 truffles. Who wants some chocolate?

Dark Chocolate Coffee Truffles

