Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We finally live in a place where we can buy fruit by the buttload without breaking the bank (buttload is definitely a real unit of measurement)! So, needless to say, that’s what we’ve been doing. Marco loves him some peaches, but I prefer plums. And for about a week now I’ve been craving some kind of yummy plum dessert. I went through all my Cook’s Illustrated magazines and my America’s Test Kitchen cookbook, and, even though there’s a plum tart recipe in there, I wanted something a little different (and I didn’t have any almonds). I settled on the lemon pound cake, but I had to make a few changes, of course.

For one, I didn’t want lemon cake, I wanted plum cake. And two, the original recipe calls for cream cheese, which rips my stomach apart. (I also can’t use the ATK gluten-free flour blend since it calls for dry milk powder.) I can tolerate yogurt, however, and decided that blackberry would be perfect for this cake (read: it’s the only flavor I had, plus we had whole blackberries to go with it). Cut back on the sugar, added some fruit. Recipe.

I also took the liberty of soaking my plums and blackberries in white wine, because, well, why not. You can omit that step if you like but I really enjoyed the tang it gave the cake and the way it softened the fruit without mashing it.

It really turned out amazingly delicious. I added a nice glaze with a hint of lemon. Mmm. Lip-smackin’ good. You gotta try this.

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Ingredients:
7 oz of a gluten-free flour blend (you really should get a scale, but it was about a cup and a half of my blend)
3/4 cup of sugar
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of salt
4 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1 carton (6 oz) of blackberry yogurt
8 tablespoons of butter, melted
2-3 small plums, sliced
Small handful of blackberries
Optional: 1/2 cup of white wine
Optional glaze: 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, tablespoon of milk (I used flax), teaspoon of lemon juice

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Preheat the oven to 350 and grease and flour a springform cake pan or, what I used, an 8-inch loose-bottomed cake tin.

Optional: Soak the plum slices and the blackberries in about a cup of wine (the leftovers make a great sangria). I used a pear fusion wine.

Frusion

Whisk the sugar with the yogurt and vanilla extract, then add the eggs one at a time and beat until incorporated. Add in the melted butter, and then slowly whisk in the flour, salt and baking powder.

Pour the batter into the cake tin and then arrange the plum slices on the top, being sure to allow the excess wine to drip into the bowl before laying on the cake. Mash up the blackberries with your hands or a fork and arrange on the cake, as well.

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Bake in the middle of the oven for 15 minutes at 350, then lower to 325 and bake for another 40-50 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out relatively clean. The top should evenly brown and the cake sides should be pulling away from the pan.

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing from the cake pan. Let cool completely before serving or adding the glaze.

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Plum Blackberry Pound Cake

Enjoy with that glass of sangria. 😉

