Tags

, , , , ,

Lately, we’ve been eating well. Like, really well. Salads and quinoa and vegetarian well. I started a new job (YAY!) and have been re-adjusting my sleep, clean, eat and yoga schedules so that I can fit everything I need and want into normal-people hours.

It’s definitely taken a few weeks, and luckily, Alex was finishing up his first part of flight school for the first week or two after I started my new job, so he wasn’t super busy, bless him. He saved me by making coffee in the morning, taking the dogs out, making dinner and cleaning up around the house. I do love that man.

The last two weeks, though, I’ve been good. I’m feeling almost fully-adjusted. My energy is back, my body is on a good schedule, I’m hitting yoga 2-3 times each week with energy to spare and I’ve got good meals planned for breakfast, lunch and dinner (save for Taco Tuesday… who can pass up .99 cent tacos? On crunchy corn tortillas, too, which makes it about the cheapest gluten free meal, ever, from a restaurant).

The one thing I haven’t been planning for is dessert. We had nothing sweet in our apartment for a solid month. It was okay for awhile, because I was so busy that I didn’t even think about it. I was just trying to get in the door and eat something before I passed out at 7pm.

But ask Alex, he needs his sweets. And I have to admit, I usually like something sweet after dinner, too. So for about a week I’ve been craving cookies, cake, ice cream… ANYTHING sweet. So yesterday I broke down and went on a dessert pinning spree, naturally.

I came across this recipe from Averie Cooks and had everything it called for in my pantry, so I went for it.

Normally, I’ll make some kind of significant change to a recipe I find and post the details here. The only change I made to this recipe was that I used gluten free flour instead of regular flour (duh), but these cookies are so, so good that I feel the need to share with you. Averie’s post about this recipe has a ton of great pictures and tips for using coconut oil in baking, so I honestly recommend that you take a trip over to her website for this particular recipe.

In addition to substituting gluten free flour for regular flour, I only chilled the batter in the fridge for about 90 minutes (we just couldn’t wait any longer!). I baked the cookies at 350 for 8 minutes, and they came out perfectly.

You can eat these little guys while they’re still warm (after you cool them down for about five minutes), and they will be super crumbly and flaky. I would totally crumble one or two of these over a scoop of vanilla ice cream while they’re still warm.. why didn’t I think of that last night?? (bangs head on table) – it would be heaven.

Or, you can put them in the fridge and eat them chilled. They’re a little bit drier than if you eat them fresh and warm, but they’re still great. I can’t taste the coconut oil at all in the cookies, so they just taste like creamy, peanut-buttery, gluten-free goodness.

PeanutButterCookies

Honestly, these cookies remind me of the peanut butter thumbprint cookies with the hershey kiss in the middle that my mom always used to make. I am SO TOTALLY making those with this recipe next time.

Tonight, I think I’ll work on perfecting a mixed-berry cobbler… with a gluten free crumble, of course.

 

Be well and enjoy every bite you take.

Jen

 

