Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey guys! I haven’t posted a recipe in a long, long, long time.

This is mostly because we were on a super bland diet for awhile, and then I was lazy with cooking, so I stuck with my regular go-to recipes, most of which are posted here already.

Then I went home to IL for two months, came back, and needed to get settled.

So that brings us up to speed!

I’ve mostly been eating fruit and/or eggs for breakfast recently, but this lovely Saturday morning I wanted something more substantial.

While I was home, my sister and I went at least twice a week to our favorite little breakfast place, Butterfields. It’s just down the street from the house where I grew up. They serve cheap, hearty portions and have an abundance of gluten-free options. There’s no need to explain why it’s my favorite place.

I had a gluten-free belgian waffle there one day, and it was TO. DIE. FOR.

So, I went a-searching for something, anything, that would help me replicate that sort of deliciousness.

I stumbled across this recipe on Pinterest, saw that it was gluten-free and thought I would give it a try.

Actually, I was busy meal planning for the week before our grocery store trip, so the breakfast man (aka, Alex) made breakfast.

He essentially followed the original recipe, but added a few extras to give it a little more flavor. The original recipe is great on its own – but tastes like you’re eating plain oatmeal (which, you are, it’s just cooked into a waffle). The extra ingredients give it just a hint of sweetness and a little more flavor, which I prefer.

Five Ingredient Waffles

This recipe yields about 4 belgian-sized waffles.

Ingredients

2 & 1/2 C Oats
1 & 1/2 C Water
1 & 1/2 C Milk of Choice (we use almond)
3 Tb Olive Oil
1/2 tsp Salt

Optional Ingredients

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1-2 Tb Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1 tsp Cinnamon

Mix all ingredients in a (large) food processor or blender. Blend until smooth. Pour some in your waffle iron and viola! You’ve got some wicked healthy, super yummy waffles.

Oat Waffles

The batter rose surprisingly well in the waffle iron, so these waffles turned out really light and fluffy, with just a bit of crisp on the outside. We served ours with fresh cut strawberries and maple syrup. I bet they’d be delicious with any kind of fresh fruit on top, or maybe even with some thrown into the batter.

I also suspect that if you let the batter sit out for a few minutes after blending, it will thicken as the oats soak up more of the liquid, and you could even attempt pancakes.

Hope you enjoy as much as we did – Alex ate two!

 

Cheers!

Jen

 

 

Linked to Gluten Free & DIY Tuesdays

