Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Let me tell you something. This blogging thing is kind of hard, a job in and of itself. And my current full-time job is quite enough, thank you very much. I’ve been trying really hard these past few months to get back into serious shape, so I’ve been doing a couple of different work out videos and pushing myself really hard. Marco has even joined me and it’s been extremely motivating because I’m super competitive and MUST WIN. But anyways, that means I collapse on the couch afterwards and do nothing (but binge watch TV and drink a glass of wine to replenish some calories).

I still cook of course, I must feed the children (a.k.a Marco), but these last few weeks have also been a whirlwind of visitors. It takes a lot out of you, all the prep and hosting. Read: must scrub the house clean from top to bottom because everyone will DEFINITELY notice the dusty baseboard behind the toilet; must keep their bellies full at all times or else they’ll DEFINITELY hate me and think my cooking ability is really just a farce. Obviously.

But my mother recently informed me that I need to get my life back together and put something up on the blog. Gotta get my priorities straight, you see.

So, fine. This one has been in “drafts” for too long.

A few months ago I went to a Boston Bloggers event (another thing I need to get back into), and I left with a lovely goody bag of yummies. Among them were roasted, flavored pumpkin seeds, SuperSeedz, which promptly sat on the counter for a while because I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them. I just wasn’t crazy enough about them to eat them on their own.

Fast forward a few days: I decide to make dinner, in typical Jenee fashion, without checking to make sure I actually had all the ingredients. I kept seeing people post recipes of chicken and salmon encrusted with walnuts and almonds, which I had planned on doing, but sadly had only the chicken. All the walnuts had mysteriously walked off, on their own, as walnuts are known to do.

Cue: SuperSeedz pumpkin seeds. Boom.

Let me tell you something, I would totally buy these seeds again just for this recipe. It was REALLY good. Don’t quote me on nutrition or anything, but I feel like its healthy, right? Sure, whatevs.

I took this recipe and made a few slight modifications, namely the nut substitution (and the no bread crumbs part). You can really use whatever you want, anything crunchy that can be turned into a crumb. It’s a great way to get flavorful, crunchy chicken without frying it and without flour, making it naturally gluten free. You should seriously try this recipe. I went with Italian-style flavors, because of the seeds I had on hand, but they also make a sea salt flavor that you could really pair with whatever spices strike your fancy. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup of tomato italiano pumpkin seeds
1 egg white
2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese (the cheap stuff is fine)
1-2 teaspoons Italian seasoning (your call)
Salt, to taste
Olive oil, for pan searing

Preheat the oven to 425, and prep a skillet over medium heat with the olive oil. In a food processor or blender, combine the seeds, Parmesan cheese, seasoning and salt. Pulse until finely ground, then dump into a shallow bowl. In another bowl, whisk the egg white until frothy. Dip the chicken breast into the egg white, turning to coat, then press into the seed crumb coating, until fully covered. Transfer to the hot skillet, and brown both sides, about 2 minutes each. (The pumpkin seeds really browned quite nicely.) Remove to plate to cook all the chicken if needed.

20140530-230100-82860539.jpg

Once all the chicken breasts have been browned, you can either transfer the skillet to the oven to bake, or place the chicken on an oiled cooling rack (metal) placed over a baking sheet. This allows the bottom side to brown and crisp just as well as the top, without absorbing more oil or sticking.

Bake until the chicken is cooked through, about 15 minutes.

I served over sautéed kale with rice. Noms!

20140530-230157-82917248.jpg

Also, I made cake.

20140530-230248-82968277.jpg

Ok, I promise I’ll post more regularly. Particularly, since it’s finally grilling season, I’ll be bringing you tales from my Weber, a summer tradition I started last year with a friend of mine. This year we’ve upgraded from grilling off my fire escape out the kitchen window to grilling in my alley. Great things will definitely come from this.

