Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I promise I do not eat sweets every day all day, though you would probably think it based on my ratio of sweet to savory recipe posts (I was going to post some Coconut Macaroon recipes today…). BUT, to prove it to you, I’m finally writing down one of my vegetable recipes that I whip up quite often as a side dish for dinner. You can really use just about any firm vegetable of your choice, I just happen to consistently buy carrots and squash from Haymarket vegetable stands in downtown Boston, and they’re usually of an abnormally large size, which is why I noted “giant” in the ingredients list. If you do not have access to what are probably genetically-modified giant vegetables, you might need 2 of each, or half the other ingredients for a smaller batch (this makes about 4 servings).

Ingredients:
1 giant carrot, peeled
1 giant yellow squash, peeled
3-4 heaping tablespoons of mayonnaise (or plain yogurt)
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of garlic powder (or more, I LOVE garlic)
1 tablespoon of honey
1/2 teaspoon of curry powder (mine is hot and delicious, hence the honey to cut the heat a little)

Using a julienne peeler, turn the carrot and squash into slaw-sized slivers. (When it gets too tricky to peel, just eat the nubs. It’s good for you.) In a large bowl, combine with all the other ingredients.

That’s it.

Veggie Slaw

I am all about simple sides, because I usually spend a lot of time on one “star” item for dinner. Finding food to pair with it is sometimes difficult, so having a super easy way of dressing raw vegetables really makes getting a full meal on the table (almost) hassle free.

Here I paired it with Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken and rice.

Teriyaki Chicken with Veggie Slaw and Rice

We’ve also had this slaw with Beef Empanadas. It really can go with anything, and you can easily change up the spices to compliment whatever the “star” of your meal is.

Enjoy!

