Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Every once in a while I venture into the world of converting gluten-containing baked goods into gluten-free ones, and every once in a while I end up with something edible. I’ve been meaning to try this recipe for some time now, because those little guys are just so freakin’ cute. I do not, however, have a beehive muffin tin, so I suppose that sort of defeats the whole purpose of making cute little beehive-shaped muffins…

Nevertheless, I wanted to try. As a general rule, I won’t substitute gluten-free flours into a recipe if it calls for more than 1 1/2 to 2 cups of regular flour. I go for those that don’t rely on gluten so much for their texture and shape, so I usually come out with a decent baked good in the end, using this gluten-free flour conversion chart. Otherwise I go searching for the gluten-free alternative recipe.

I’m terribly sorry I don’t have any pictures for you right now. I made these for a lovely brunch I had with a friend, with Chocolate Chip Buckwheat Pancakes, fruit, roasted sweet potatoes, and a Mixed Fruit Crumble (ok, so I tried to convert this galette recipe to gluten-free and it failed horribly, just spread out into a berry mess, so I threw some oats on top, scooped it into a dish and called it a crumble). Well anywho, we ate our fill and I just neglected to take pictures. Whoops.

But these muffins are REALLY good. Just sweet enough, a little dense, but in a delicious sort of way. We finished off a few more the next day with some pork chops and cider gravy. YUM.

Ingredients:
1 cup of yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup of rice flour
3 tablespoons of potato starch
1 tablespoon of tapioca flour
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1/2 cup of sugar
1 teaspoon of salt
1 cup of buttermilk (or dairy free milk if you’d like, though I would replace a little with yogurt, soy if need be)
2 large eggs
4 tablespoons of butter, melted (or vegetable oil)
1/4 cup of honey

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line a muffin tin with liners.

Mix all those ingredients together, no fancy techniques needed here. Pour into the muffin liners, filling them liberally. These guys don’t rise very much at all so you don’t have to worry about them overflowing. Let them sit on the counter for just a few minutes before popping into the oven to cook for 15 minutes. Check with a toothpick to ensure they’re fully cooked. They should be lightly browning around the edges.

Remove and let cool on a rack for about 10 minutes before eating, just makes the paper liners come off much easier. And voila! That’s it.

So simple, takes very little time from start to finish which is my kind of recipe for a multiple-dish brunch. And they’re great for snacking on or adding as a side to your savory dinner, since it can stand up well to sauces like the gravy I mentioned above. SUCCESS.

And if you’re looking for a regular cornbread recipe, try this one!

Enjoy!

