Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

My, it’s been a few days since we’ve posted! Life seems to be crazy this spring (as is this stupid weather), but I suppose that’s better than boring?

Anywho, one day I stumbled upon this buzzfeed for gluten-free desserts, and something about those Clean Honey Lemon Bars spoke to me. Something refreshingly simply, citrusy and light was just I needed.

Except…

Failed Lemon Bars

Fail.

This did NOT work for me. For one, even though my Ninja is awesome, it couldn’t make oats into a true flour. And two, I’m just not sure there was enough liquid for me? I don’t know, but I basically got baked eggs with a hint of lemon. I’m sure it was my fault, but I decided to scrap the clean-eating idea and go straight to the real deal. I loved the idea of an oat crust, so I decided to go with this recipe, made a few adjustments, and went straight to Ina’s Lemon Bar recipe.

Woah. Three cups of sugar? Ina. I’m all for indulgence, but I just couldn’t bring myself to dip my cup back in the sugar bin. So that recipe got a major overhaul, and here’s what I came up with.

Oat Crust:
1 cup certified gluten-free oats
1/4 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour, or just rice flour
3 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon water

Filling:
6 large eggs, room temperature
2 cups of sugar
2/3 cup of lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest
1/3 cup of rice flour
3 tablespoons of potato starch
2 tablespoons of tapioca flour
Confectioner’s sugar for dusting

(Side note: Please remind me that I can only eat certified gluten-free oats. Next time I buy the cheaper stuff out of convenience, feel free to say “I told you so” as I cry in the bathroom.)

Ok, lightly grease a pie plate or a square baking dish (9 to 10 inches) and preheat the oven to 425.

In a blender, toss in the oats with the flour and brown sugar. Add the oil and water and pulse just until blended. Pat into the prepared pie plate or baking dish, and bake for 8 to 10 minutes, or until browned around the edges. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool, and lower the oven temperature to 350.

For the filling, simply whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and the flours. Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the filling is set (as soon as you see the top starting to crack, take it out). Let cool to room temperature, dust with confectioner’s sugar, and cut into squares or triangles. Store in the fridge when not eating.

Lemon Bars

These were a hit at the office and with my neighbor. And they definitely satisfied my craving. Probably not the healthiest dessert, but the oat crust made them nice and light, and the lemon was so refreshing. Tasted like summer…not that you’d even know that it’s spring here because it SNOWED LAST NIGHT. Unacceptable.

But at least I have a three-day weekend coming up, and my boys and I can spend some more time like this:

Lazy cat nappin'

Assuming the sun comes back.

