Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I LOVE PANCAKES. I would eat them every day if I could. For all of my meals. With bacon. And syrup soup. Pancakes should be made part of the food pyramid. Oh wait, we don’t do that anymore, do we? It’s like a plate or something, isn’t it? Anywho, pancakes are the bomb, and Saturday morning I got a craving for oatmeal and peanut butter. I decided this needed to be made into a pancake, naturally, and after some Google research I found this recipe. It was super easy to convert to gluten free, I just subbed in buckwheat flour (still trying to use up all the dark buckwheat flour I accidentally bought, so the flavor of mine drowned out the peanut butter a little), and made a few other slight changes.

These were really delicious, and somehow managed to still be light and fluffy despite being packed full of heavy proteins (the baking powder gives them a great lift). And I feel like these are healthy, right? I used honey instead of brown sugar (I was out), and they’re also completely dairy free (with df chocolate chips). Win! These guys are super filling, so for once we didn’t devour them all in one sitting. Another win for the waste line.

Ingredients:
1 cup old fashioned rolled oats (certified gf)
3/4 cup of buckwheat flour (I recommend light)
1/4 cup of chocolate protein powder (or cocoa powder)
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
3 tablespoons of honey
1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups of milk (I used almond)
3/4 cup of chocolate chips

Blend the oats until you get a fine flour, and then throw all that crap in a bowl and whisk. Seriously, no need to dirty up a bunch of dishes.

Heat a skillet over medium heat, hit it with some non-stick cooking spray, and pour a heaping quarter cup of batter in. Let cook for about 2 minutes, or something like that. When you see little bubbles start to pop on the top layer, check the bottom for browning, and then flip. Cook for another 30 seconds, and then transfer to a plate for prompt devouring. But not before you smother them with syrup. NOMS.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pancakes

We enjoyed them with coffee on a sunny morning, reading up on gluten-free science from my handy-dandy ATK cookbook.

Also, check out these delicious little chocolates Marco brought me from L.A. Burdick:

LA Burdick Chocolate

Adorbs.

Need other pancake recipes? We’ve got you covered. There’s Avocado Pancakes for a healthy kick, your basic Buckwheat Pancakes which can be jazzed up any which way, like for these Double-Chocolate Buckwheat Pancakes. And we’ve got a great copy-cat recipe for Moogy’s “Rude Awakening” Pancakes.

Don’t want pancakes? Try this Peanut Butter & Banana Stuffed French Toast recipe, or this Chocolate Buckwheat Crepe recipe. We don’t love breakfast or anything…

Got any breakfast recipes you’d like us to try?

