Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Announcement: I’ve entered a gluten-free dessert into the Diced! Dessert Bracket Competition, and I would just love it if you could head over there to vote for my Strawberry Jello-O Shot Cake (poll on the right hand side)! I’m really hoping I can take this opportunity to show people how awesome and simple gluten-free, allergy-friendly baking can be, even when you get stuck with gelatin as your category. 😛 Also, my competitor made a lovely Oreo Cake, and has a great blog about being a mom, so don’t forget to check her out, too!

Ok, Apple Pie.

This is the same apple pie that may or may not have caused me tummy issues, if I do indeed have a fructose malabsorption issue as I suspect, and led me to discovering foods that offer bloat relief in the form of this smoothie.

BUT, that being said, this apple pie was damn delicious. (Even though I burned it. So, just don’t do that.) I haven’t had apple pie in years, and this was definitely a cry-worthy moment. The crust is so simple to make (it’s the one my mom and I used to make her Southern Pecan Pie, another pie I hadn’t had in years), and you can actually roll it out, you don’t have to press it into your pie plate! The recipe makes enough for 2 thin pie crusts, so you can choose to make a whole top layer, or attempt to make a basket-weave pattern on top like I did (I just didn’t plan it out very well…and then I burned it, fail).

Pie Crust:
1 cup of cornstarch
1 cup of tapioca flour
1/2 cup of rice flour
3 tablespoons of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 cup (one stick) of unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup of cold shortening
1/4 cup of cold gluten-free vodka (like Tito’s)
1/4 cup of cold water

Filling:
5-7 apples, cored and sliced (I don’t bother peeling them)
1 tablespoon of cinnamon, plus 1/2 teaspoon
1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon of ginger powder (optional)
1/3 cup of brown sugar, plus 2 tablespoons
1/4 cup of granulated sugar
2 tablespoons of rice flour

Preheat oven to 375.

For your pie crust, mix the flours, starch, salt and sugar together in a large bowl, then add the shortening and butter, in pieces, and combine with your hands (or do this in a blender/food processor, it’s a lot easier). It should resemble cottage cheese curds at this point, as my mother calls it. Then add in the vodka and water (or all water, if you’re alcohol free), and continue combining with your hands until a nice ball of dough forms (if you used the blender, dump your “cottage cheese curds” into a bowl and then add the liquid, to work with your hands). If it’s too wet, add small amounts of rice flour and tapioca flour, alternating, until you can make it form a workable ball. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate, in the coldest part of your refrigerator if possible, so you can keep it in there for less time (ideally, an hour).

In the meantime, slice your apples and place on a lightly greased sheet pan. Sprinkle with the extra 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon (roughly), plus a little ginger if you’d like. Roast until just beginning to release their juices (5-10 minutes-ish). This brings a really great flavor to the apples and enhances their natural sweetness, I’d really recommend you take the time to do this step.

apples roasted

Once cooled, combine the apples with all other filling ingredients in a large bowl, and mix to combine well, making sure all the apples are coated.

Once your pie crust is good and cold, divide it into two and gently roll one crust out (put the other back in the fridge) on a well-floured surface (tapioca is best). If your crust is cold enough, you’ll have no trouble rolling it up into your rolling pin and laying it down into your pie plate (no need to grease it, there’s plenty of grease in the crust itself).

photo 2 (22)

Trim the edges as needed, and then gently scoop in your filling, leveling it out as well as you can.

You can choose to roll out the second crust completely, or cut it into strips like a did for a basket-weave top. I just didn’t do a great job at it. The strips are certainly delicate, and it’s a little difficult to lift one up once it’s placed down, so doing a true basket-weave might not be possible. I was just laying them down one at a time perpendicular to each other, so there was some crossover.

Apple Pie

I gently brushed with an egg wash and then sprinkled clove sugar on top, which is why it burned (I left it on broil too long, double tasking as usual and forgot).

Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes, and you can crank it up to broil for TWO MINUTES to get a nice browned top crust. TWO MINUTES. Don’t forget about it. Because, you know, I would NEVER do that.

Apple Pie

Whoops.

Let cool completely before slicing.

Apple PIe

Enjoy! Now go clean up your kitchen, what a mess! 😛

