Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I just really had a craving for bread, and since I had recently seen a video of someone making a gluten-free Irish soda bread I decided to start my recipe search there – a quick bread, that doesn’t require yeast and a long resting time. I decided to use this Betty Crocker recipe, but subbing my own mix of flours, and without xanthan gum, as usual. But I also didn’t have any raisins, so I didn’t feel it would be right to continue calling it an Irish soda bread. I added flax seed, instead, for a little added health benefit, and replaced the buttermilk with almond milk and yogurt.

20140318-172956.jpg

(This can easily be made dairy free, as well, by using a butter alternative and a soy yogurt.)

Ingredients:
1 cup of white rice flour
1/3 cup of potato starch
1/3 cup of tapioca flour
1/2 cup of dark buckwheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
1 teaspoon of baking powder
3/4 teaspoon of salt
1/4 cup of sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup of milk (I used almond)
1/2 cup of plain yogurt
3 tablespoons of butter, softened
3 tablespoons of whole flax seed (optional)

Preheat the oven to 450. In one bowl combine the flours, baking soda and powder, salt and flax seed. In another bowl cream the butter with the sugar and the egg, just until light and well combined. Add the creamed butter to the flour bowl. In a mixing cup, combine the milk and yogurt, and slowly pour into the flour, using a spatula to stir.

This won’t make a dough, more like a very thick cake batter, so don’t be tempted to keep adding flour. Well grease a large, round baking dish (very well, mine stuck a little). Pour the batter into your dish.

20140318-173046.jpg

Bake at 450 for 5 minutes, then lower the heat to 350 and bake for 30 minutes more. Around the 20-minute mark you might need to cover it with tin foil to prevent over browning. Use a toothpick to ensure it’s fully cooked on the inside before taking out.

20140318-173133.jpg

Let cool for a few minutes before removing from the dish and placing on a wire rack to cool for at least 10 minutes before slicing.

20140318-173211.jpg

20140318-173219.jpg

Oh is this bread delicious. A lovely crust, soft on the inside, just the right amount of sweetness – perfect with a slab of butter. And all together it only took about 45 minutes, which, in the world of bread, is quite quick. šŸ™‚

I’m definitely making this again, and I think I’ll try it in a muffin tin to make easy-to-eat rolls.

We loved it, and I hope you do to!

