Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m still trying to use up all this dark buckwheat flour that I accidentally bought, with its gloriously pungent taste of…dirt. I’ve figured out that the best way to mask it is with chocolate. And besides, what doesn’t taste better with chocolate, anyways, ammiright?

One of my favorite breakfast recipes is this simple Buckwheat Pancake one, perfect for a Saturday morning. But, I really need to lay off the dairy, my tummy could use a break. So, I decided to crack open a can of coconut milk and finish off a bag of chocolate chips (dairy-free) I had in the pantry. And boy did that make for some yummy pancakes. Topped with a little powdered sugar…we shamelessly ate them all (it’s a small batch, or at least that’s what I’m telling myself).

They’re so simple to whip up, quick to cook, and even faster to eat. And if you’re serving more than 2 people, it’s super easy to double. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
3/4 cup of buckwheat flour
1/4 cup of cocoa powder (or chocolate protein powder)
3 tablespoons of sugar
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 cup of coconut milk (or other)
1 egg
2 tablespoons of canola oil
1/2 cup of chocolate chips

Heat up a skillet over medium heat. Whisk together the dry ingredients, then dump in the wet ingredients (no fancy steps needed here). Add the chocolate chips last (and to be honest, I probably used closer to a full cup rather than a half, so, whoops).

When your skillet is warm enough, hit it with some non-stick spray or a little oil, and pour out a quarter cup of batter (or more if you’d like larger pancakes). Let cook for about 3 minutes, and flip when you see little bubbles starting to pop on top. Getting the temperature right for these pancakes is tricky but important, since the chocolate chips will sink to one side and can quickly start burning. So, just pay attention and adjust as needed. Cook for just another minute on the other side.

Remove to a plate to let cool, and then top with powdered sugar!

Double-Chocolate Buckwheat Pancakes

Delicious. Especially with coffee. We might be eating pancakes every weekend until I get rid of this stuff. I’m sure Marco won’t have any complaints about that! 🙂

