Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all, I just love grits. I eat them weekly, mostly with cheese, but I’ll eat ’em any way they come. Second of all, it’s one of the easiest dishes to whip up. So when I was knee-deep in a four-layer cake for a coworker’s birthday and realized that I probably needed to eat a meal, a quick scan of my pantry landed on: grits. I normally make a quick cheesy broccoli dish with quinoa, but since the price has gone up of late I don’t often keep it on hand. Why not make it with grits? I almost always have frozen broccoli (and spinach) in my freezer, so with my two kitchen staples at the ready, I whipped up a scrumptious, filling dinner in no time at all.

And the best part? It tasted just like Broccoli Cheddar Soup!! So if you’re craving that warming, hearty dish but don’t have enough time to make it, why not give this quick-fix recipe a try!

Ingredients:
1 cup of grits
4 cups of broth or water
1lb package of frozen broccoli, thawed and steamed
1-2 teaspoons of salt
2 teaspoons of garlic powder
1-2 bay leaves
1/4 cup of parmesan cheese
1/2 cup of shredded cheddar
Fresh cracked pepper

(This is for 4 servings, so you can easily half or multiply this dish depending on what you need.)

In a large pot on medium heat, add the grits and water/broth. The amount and kind of seasoning you use here will depend on whether or not you used water or broth, and what kind of broth you use (for example, I always buy low sodium broth so I can control the amount of salt). But your basic seasonings here are garlic, salt, pepper, and bay leaves. You can get creative beyond that!

While the grits are cooking, you can give the broccoli a quick steam in the microwave, with a few tablespoons of water. (I had to do mine on the stove top since my microwave was keeping the cake time, so the easy way to do that is to add the broccoli to a saute pan with a few tablespoons of water, put on low heat, and cover with another saute pan to give it a quick steam.) Chop up the broccoli into bite-sized pieces, and add to the still-cooking grits.

Add the parmesan cheese, and stir. Total cook time should be somewhere around 15 to 20 minutes. You don’t want the grits to be completely thickened when you turn off the heat, as they will thicken more as they cool so you don’t want to dry them out. Finally, add the shredded cheddar and stir to fully combine.

You can serve topped with a little more shredded cheddar (don’t forget to take out the bay leaves), and I think bacon would be fantastic on top, too, if you have it. I’m definitely doing that next time.

broccoli cheddar grits

Enjoy!

And since I didn’t have lots of pictures and haven’t posted in a few days, here’s a cute cat pic:

chester

Chester decided that we didn’t need the plastic covering on the windows anymore. I wish it were so, but it’s still winter. But thanks for wishing little buddy.

Also, please check out Jen’s Sweet & Savory Breakfast Grits Variations for other yummy grits ideas.

