Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Did you make, or do you plan on making, Jen’s Balsamic Roasted Fennel, but don’t know what to do with the leftover stalks and fronds? Don’t you throw that away! There are actually quite a few different things you can do with both. (Don’t worry, I googled it to make sure they’re edible.) You can freeze the stalks until you’re ready to use them to flavor a homemade vegetable or chicken stock; you can use the fronds in a salad to add just a hint of sweetness; and you can use any of the pieces to juice, if you have a juicer, or in a green or fruit smoothie. That’s right, a smoothie. I wasn’t quite sure myself, but I’ll be damned if wasn’t actually delicious. Almost didn’t even taste healthy! 🙂

This would definitely add a lovely sweetness to a green smoothie, of spinach or kale or the like, but I chose to go with berries since I happened to have so many on hand. I decided to add my chocolate protein powder and milk (Lactaid), since I had just come back from a weight conditioning class, but you can omit it and add orange juice instead, keeping it light and fruity fresh. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
Fronds and chopped stalk from one fennel bulb, about a cup and a half in total
1/2 cup of frozen or fresh raspberries
1/2 cup of frozen or fresh strawberries
1 cup of berry-flavored Greek yogurt (or plain or vanilla)
2 scoops of chocolate protein powder
1/4 cup of milk (or to your desired smoothie consistency)

20140309-194604.jpg

Throw it all in and blend!

20140309-194708.jpg

My Ninja had no trouble turning the fennel stalk into a smooth consistency. And it was extremely tasty. Hint of sour from the raspberries and ripe strawberries, hint of anise flavor from the fennel, just sweet enough, and perfectly creamy. New favorite.

20140309-194748.jpg

You should make Jen’s recipe for dinner and then make this for breakfast. You’ll thank us later.

