Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been bringing in so many yummy, chocolate-y, calorie-packed baked goods into the office, I’ve been getting threats of having to pay for people’s gym memberships. Hey, just because it’s sitting there, doesn’t mean you have to eat it. Therefore, I cannot be held responsible, right? Right. 🙂

But, I suppose I could try for a little something healthier. My boss is always bringing in muffins and the like from Au Bon Pain, and one of my coworkers was raving over the Cranberry Walnut Muffin. I did not have cranberries, but I did have fresh blueberries, so I decided to make my own gluten-free version…except completely different since I didn’t use cranberries. ANYWAYS, I found this recipe and made a few adjustments, such as subbing yogurt for the applesauce since I have a coworker who’s allergic to apples, and a few other flavor changes. They were quite yummy, much healthier than the Brownie Cake I brought in last week…

Brownie Cake

…great, now I’m craving chocolate.

Ok, MUFFINS.

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups of gf all-purpose flour (mine is a blend of rice flour, tapioca flour, and potato starch)
1/4 cup of buckwheat flour
1/2 cup of light brown sugar
2-3 tablespoons of granulated sugar (to your liking)
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon of ginger powder
1/4 teaspoon of lemon zest (eyeballed it)
1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice (eyeballed it)
2/3 cup of buttermilk (or your preference, this just makes for a nice, thicker batter and reacts with the baking soda for a little more fluffiness)
1/4 cup of yogurt (I used plain)
1 egg
4 tablespoons of butter (melted)
1/2 cup of blueberries
1/3 cup of chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 375 and line a muffin tin with paper liners (this recipe easily makes 15 muffins).

In a bowl, combine all your dry ingredients, including the lemon zest. In a large measuring cup (like the glass Pyrex thing, what do you call those?), pour in the milk, then scoop in the yogurt, add the egg and the melted butter, then whisk well to combine.

photo 2 (14)

Pour that mixture into the dry ingredients, and stir to combine.

Finally, add the blueberries and chopped walnuts, then scoop into each muffin liner, about 3/4 of the way full. Now let the batter sit for just a few minutes (I read somewhere that this helps the muffins tops to rise in the oven, and most of mine did actually get a nice dome so what the hell, give it a try).

Bake for 18-20 minutes, until the edges are just browned and a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool on a wire rack for at least an hour, because right out of the oven these aren’t quite the texture of muffins. They need a little time to fully absorb the liquid (they’re not wet, just soft and very very moist), so they’re really good the next morning!

Blueberry Walnut Muffins

Enjoy!

photo 4 (7)

