Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I stumbled upon this recipe one day, and I knew that’s what we needed for dinner. Only, I didn’t have those exact ingredients, so as soon as I got home I started playing around with what was in my pantry. I ended up with the same concept, just a slightly different flavor profile (went a little Mexican instead of Thai). I was in a rush to get to yoga (I’ve been doing pretty good with my free month at Healthworks!), so I didn’t microwave the sweet potatoes long enough to get them completely tender. But, I actually really liked having little chunks of sweet potato in the soup, it made it a little less one dimensional in texture.

Feel free to play around with the flavors, too. This recipe really lends itself to creativity/throwing whatever’s in your pantry into your crock pot. Which is usually how I cook anyways, but let’s pretend it was planned… And hey, it’s gluten- and lactose-free! Your tummy and taste buds will all be happy.

Ingredients:
10 chicken tenders (mine were fairly small)
1/2 a small onion, diced
1/4 cup of bacon fat (or 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil, I just happened to have some in the fridge)
1 can of coconut milk
2-3 cups of chicken broth
1-2 cans of fire-roasted diced green chile (I would recommend 2, but Marco doesn’t do spicy…the sacrifices I make)
3 medium sweet potatoes
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
1 teaspoon of paprika
Salt and pepper, to taste

Green Chile Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup

Go ahead and turn your slow cooker on high, and throw in the diced onion and bacon fat or olive oil, to give the onion a little time to cook.

Poke your sweet potatoes with a fork a couple of times, all the way around, and microwave on high until desired consistency (I would say about 10 minutes, depending on how firm yours are). I didn’t get them completely mushy, mine were still quite firm on the outside. I liked the chunks of sweet potato in my soup, but that’s up to you.

Lay the chicken down on top of the onions, cover them with sweet potatoes, and then pour in everything else. Cook on high for about 2 hours.

photo 2 (13)

Then do this crazy thing that someone told be about that actually works: use a hand blender to shred the chicken. Seriously. My crock-pot was quite full so I ended up making a huge mess, soup everywhere, but it totally works. Then you don’t have to remove the chicken to shred it, and it takes like a minute to do! AND it thickened up the soup a little in the process. Win.

Green Chile Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup

This yields about 4 servings, and it’s actually really filling. I LOVED it, and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks again to theglutenfreeblogger for inspiration!

Green Chile Chicken and Sweet Potato Soup

