Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Look at this cake. Just look at it. Right?? I had to make it, a gluten-free version that is. I’ve been salivating over it for weeks. I promised a co-worker I’d make it for her going away party, and while I certainly didn’t want that day to come, I did want to eat this cake. So, that’s what I set out to do last night. Turns out, there are two ways to make this cake (read: I screwed up the first time but it still tasted good so I made it a thing): as a Brownie Cake, as intended, or as a Molten Chocolate Cake, with a runny, ooey gooey inside.

You see, I made some changes to the original recipe, and this happened:

Molten Cake

It was still liquid inside, so of course it sank once I finally pulled it out of the oven and it cooled down. I thought for sure that if I upped the flour amount a little (to account for loss in volume when switching from wheat to rice flour) and lowered the oven temp a little to give the rice flour more time to absorb the liquid, that it would work perfectly. Well, it didn’t.

BUT. Just like my Chocolate Truffle accident, I went with it. And when I posted it to Instagram and Facebook, I got pretty positive responses and a request for the recipe, my accidental “Molten Chocolate Cake.”

Molten Cake

So, what the hell, here’s how you can screw up that recipe, too. 🙂 (And I used flour amounts based on the Gluten-free Conversion Chart, but no xanthan gum, as usual.)

Cake Ingredients:
1/2 cup of butter
1 cup of sugar
1/2 cup of water
2 cups of chocolate chips (or 16 ounces of chocolate)
4 eggs
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1 cup of white rice flour
5 tablespoons of potato starch
3 tablespoons of tapioca flour
1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon of salt

Preheat oven to 325.

Grease a small cake pan, either spring form or the kind that I have which has a separate bottom that pushes out, line the bottom with a round piece of parchment paper, and grease that as well.

In a large saucepan on the stove, melt the butter, water and sugar, on low heat, stirring occasionally. Once it comes to a boil, remove from the heat and add the chocolate. Stir until all the chocolate has melted. In a small bowl or cup, lightly beat the eggs, and then add them to the chocolate mix, stirring until just combined, and add the vanilla. In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients (I would recommend sifting the flours, using a mesh sieve, just to ensure a smooth batter). Add to the chocolate mixture and gently stir until combined.

Pour into your cake pan, about 2/3 of the way full, and bake for 35-40 minutes. (If there’s leftover cake batter, pour it into 2 mugs, microwave on high for about 2 minutes until the tops are “baked,” and enjoy your personal mug cake! This is actually a really good way to test your batter before baking the whole thing, to see how moist it’s going to be and how the final flavor will be. I should have known from this that my cake would need just a little more flour, but, hey this cake worked, too.)

It is perfectly acceptable for your cake to be liquid inside. Test it with a toothpick to make sure. You should be able to see that the edges are done and the top is hardened, sort of like a meringue layer. Remove and let cool for about 15 minutes before you take off the spring-form sides or push up the bottom. Let cool for a little while longer before removing to a plate and devouring. This one doesn’t even need any toppings, it’s deliciously sinfully chocolately all on its own.

I bet you could also put this batter into ramekins, and cook for a lesser amount of time. Actually, I’m doing that next. Then everyone gets their own and no fighting has to take place. Perfect.

Store covered on the counter for a few days, if it lasts that long.

Molten Chocolate Cake

