Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I had some bacon in the fridge that really needed to be used this weekend (read: I really wanted to eat ALL the bacons), so I decided to try some of those cute things I see on Pinterest all the time, to see if they really work. I had some tomatoes, too, that were on the brink, so I thought it might be a good idea to combine this recipe (Bacon and Egg Cups) with this recipe (Baked Eggs in Tomato Cups). Thus was born the “Tomato Breakfast Cups,” tomatoes filled with an egg and cheese, wrapped in bacon.

The best part of this whole thing is the prep time, if you’re one who really loathes it. The only effort you need to make at all is slicing the tomatoes and scooping out the insides (which I saved in a glass container to use for a pizza I’m making tomorrow). Then it’s simly assembling the whole thing and plopping it in the oven. (And then maybe cooking the rest of the bacon? Yeeaaahhhh. Sprinkled with a little brown sugar…ZOMG.)

Ok, Tomato Breakfast Cups.

Ingredients (for 2 people):
4 eggs
2 tomatoes (I used roma), sliced in half and with the meat scooped out
4 slices of bacon
1/4 cup of shredded cheese (approximately)
Salt and Pepper, to taste
Anything else you might like to top your eggs with

20140301-211519.jpg

Preheat oven to 350. You have 2 options: either line your muffin tin with the bacon and then pop a tomato half into each, or wrap the tomato half in bacon and then put it in the muffin tin, whichever is easier for you. (And no need to grease the muffin tin, the bacon does that for you. It’s thoughtful like that.)

20140301-211616.jpg

Then, crack an egg (slowly) into each tomato. The whites will runneth over, you’re just trying to keep the yolk in the center of the tomato. Sprinkle a little salt and pepper, sprinkle a little cheese, and into the oven they go.

20140301-211703.jpg

For deliciously runny yolks, cook for about 20-25 minutes. For sad, fully-cooked yolks, cook 35-40 minutes. (Can you tell which I prefer? Can you guess what I have to sacrifice in order to make Marco happy? Well, I suppose I could take 2 out for myself a little early and then cook the rest. Duh.)

20140301-211811.jpg

Use a knife to gently separate the cups from the side of the muffin tin, and I would suggest using a spoon to scoop them out and onto a plate. Feel free to experiment, of course! I might try scrambling my eggs next time, and maybe mixing them up with some peppers or mushrooms, like mini frittatas in a tomato, wrapped in bacon. 🙂

20140301-212133.jpg

Also, if you’re interested in changing up your bacon routine, this is how I prefer to cook mine:

20140301-212313.jpg

I line a sheet pan with foil, place a metal cooling rack on top, and lay out my bacon evenly across. I’m a sucker for sweet and savory, so I like to sprinkle a little brown sugar on top, or maple syrup, if I have it on hand. I baked this underneath my breakfast cups and they came put perfectly. Poured out that bacon grease into a jar, ready to use for another recipe. We didn’t waste a thing. Ate it all. Because, you know, that’s better for the environment.

