Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It seems like everyone has their own version of teriyaki chicken, with mostly the same ingredients but just in varying amounts. A lot of people also cook enough chicken at once to feed an army, something like 3 pounds of chicken breasts or drumsticks?? I mean, Marco and I can put away some food, and I do make some giant batches in my crock-pot, but those are whole meals in themselves…not just chicken, which isn’t a stand-alone meal, meaning I have to cook something else to go with it. Which would defeat the purpose (in my mind) of the crock-pot, but since I can cook the chicken while I run out for a yoga class (conceivably….keep reading), the extra cooking is made up for. All of that was to say that I read a bunch of recipes, made some stuff up, and threw this in my crock-pot. (It’s been a long week.)

Ingredients:
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (just over half a pound)
1/4 cup of light brown sugar (you could do granulated, I just prefer the flavor of brown sugar)
1/3 cup of gluten-free soy sauce (tamari)
2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon of ginger powder (or fresh)
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
Fresh cracked pepper
2 tablespoons of cornstarch dissolved in a splash of orange juice (“slurry”)

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

Place the chicken in the bottom of your slow cooker. Mix together all the other ingredients, except for the cornstarch slurry, and pour over the chicken, making sure every part has been covered. You could “marinate” it for 2 hours, and by marinate I mean forget to plug in your slow cooker while you run out for that yoga class, which was terrible, leaving you hangry, only to find out that your dinner was not ready as planned…not that I would ever do something so silly as to not plug in my crock-pot…but you really don’t need to marinate it. You can cook it on low for 2 hours or high for 1, with a little extra or less time depending on the cut of chicken you used. (But at least my mom sent me the new America’s Test Kitchen gluten-free cook book so I could read while waiting for my well-marinated chicken to cook.)

Once cooked through, remove the chicken to a plate (leave the slow cooker on), and add the cornstarch slurry to the sauce remaining. Stir to mix well, replace the lid, and let simmer for a few minutes, just to cook out the cornstarch taste. It should thicken slightly, but won’t be gravy-like in consistency. Pour over your chicken and serve!

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

We had it with white rice and leftover Veggie Slaw. Enjoy!

