Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So, I’m trying to atually get in shape this time. But, I can’t afford the gyms around here so my goal is to see how many months I can go with free trials. 😛 (No shame.) I just started a 30-day free membership at Healthworks for Women, and I went to a Kick n’ Sculpt class this morning. It was actually pretty awesome. I sucked at it because I’m so out of shape right now, but it was still awesome. So, getting home, I felt, for once, like not undoing all the good I just did for my body by eating someting delicious greasy, starchy, stick-to-your-bones unhealthy. But I was also tired. My muscles were screaming at me, “Whhhyyyy???”

I know it’s a thing to make pancakes out of bananas (or so pinterest says), but I already had a banana smoothie before my workout (look at that, I made a healthy smoothie, too! self pat on back). Sooo we had avocados. That could work, right? I threw some crap in my Ninja and BOOM. Recipe. And it was good! It made 7 1/2 small pancakes that were very light and fluffy. We paired it with a beef empanada each from the batch I made last night (with sweet potatoes and hardly any oil, so I think I kept it all-around healthy). YUMS.

Ingredients:
1 ripe avocado
2 eggs
2 tablespoons yogurt
1 tablespoon psyllium husk
1 tablespoon honey (or you could choose to make these more savory and go with sea salt)

photo 1 (14)

You just scoop your avocado out of the skin, put everything in a blender and blend it smooth. That’s really it.

Looks gross, I know

Looks gross, I know

Now, pan fry them just like pancakes, but on a lower heat. They take just a little bit longer to firm up and can burn quickly.

photo 3 (11)

You can make them bigger than I did. I can see this working out to make 4 larger pancakes, 2 per person (or all for you, that’s acceptable since, you know, it is actually only 1 avocado).

photo 5 (3)

photo 4 (6)

So easy! Even I wouldn’t mind making these fairly often for breakfast, trying to be a little more conscious about what I eat, how much I eat, and being more active. I’m not so concerned with weight loss as I am with my overall health, stress in particular. (Hence the kicking class this morning, and why I thought it was AWESOME.)

How do you stay healhty and keep your stress levels in check?

