Tags

, , , ,

Alex is starting his first few flights, so he needs to be on a very bland diet until we can be sure that he doesn’t get air sick. This means no meats other than chicken, no seafood, no dairy, no more than three meals per day, no preserved foods, no eggs, and no acidic foods. Basically, the recommended foods are bananas, peanut butter sandwiches, chicken, and rice… boring.

I’m doing it with him, since I’m not going to make two separate dinners (way too lazy for that, and it’s more expensive). Plus, that’s mean. “Hey! I get to eat this delicious, cheese-filled awesome-sauce dinner, how’s your plain chicken and brown rice over there?”

So, while I try to come up with some decent variations of chicken and rice (we can also have veggies and other starches… I’m making it sound worse that it really is), my fun meal of the day is now breakfast. He’s usually not home in the mornings, so I don’t feel quite as bad about eating yummy stuff.

I briefly saw something on Pinterest about stuffed french toast and thought, “I can totally do that.” Well, I did. And, it was awesome.

Now, I share.

Peanut Butter & Banana Stuffed French Toast

This recipe makes 4 slices of GF french toast. I use Udi’s GF bread, so the slices are super duper small. I recommend doubling the recipe if you’re using regular bread; you’ll probably get a good 4-6 slices out of it.

Ingredients

2 Eggs
4 Slices GF Bread (If you are using regular bread, I would HIGHLY recommend Challah or another thick bread. With regular soft sandwich bread, it usually ends up sinking in the middle and getting super thin and soggy when you fry it up. GF bread is naturally drier, so I didn’t have to worry about that)
1 tsp Cinnamon, plus more for sprinkling
1/4 C Smooth Peanut Butter
1 Bananas, plus more for fresh slices
1 tsp Milk, Cream or Half and Half
Butter for Frying
Maple Syrup
Powdered Sugar

In a shallow dish (I used a glass pie plate), whisk together your eggs and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Melt your butter over medium heat in a small frying pan.

Take one slice of bread and soak each side in your egg mixture before placing it in the pan. Cook until both sides are golden brown – maybe 2-3 minutes each side, depending on your heat. Repeat for all bread slices.

In a bowl, mash up 1 banana, then add the peanut butter and milk. Mix until well combined. Taste test – if it’s too peanut-buttery, add some more bananas, if it’s too banana-ey, add more peanut butter. Taste test ’til you get it right!

To assemble, place one slice of french toast on your plate, then spread a thick layer of the peanut butter banana mixture on top. Place another piece of french toast on top, like you’re making a sandwich. Finish with powdered sugar, cinnamon, sliced fresh bananas, and maple syrup.

I definitely have some of my peanut butter banana mixture left over, since I only ate two slices. It’s okay, alex can make a sandwich out of the rest.

So, I lied a little. These aren’t really “stuffed”… they’re pseudo-stuffed. Either way, they are super delicious, and you get a whole bunch of healthy things – protein, carbohydrates and fruit – packed into an awesome breakfast (and if you use real maple syrup, you get naturally occurring sugars, which is totally cool). Can’t beat that!

Also, for those of you worried about calories – I was listening to the radio (clearly, everything that’s on the radio is the hard, fast truth) and I heard Dr. Sanjay Gupta say that your breakfast should be between 300-500 calories daily (something about eating breakfast like a queen, lunch like a princess and dinner like a peasant). He also said that skipping breakfast is correlated with higher rates of heart problems. Not to worry, though – this breakfast will help you with both of these things. 🙂

Stuffed French Toast

Enjoy!

Jen

