Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of my co-workers started talking about chicken parm, and I got a craving. He said he does his in a cast-iron skillet, so it’s like a one-pot dinner, and since that’s right up my alley (less dishes to wash people!), I had to do it. And I had left-over spaghetti to serve it with! Win.

Lightly breading things like chicken or eggplant really isn’t that difficult to do gluten free. If you don’t have gluten-free bread on hand (I always keep cubes in my freezer of bread I made that didn’t turn out so well), you can use crushed up rice or corn cereal (or crackers) in the same way that you would breadcrumbs. Easy peasy. Add some spices and BAM you’ve got delicious food in your mouth.

I looked around at a couple of recipes, but I decided to just keep it simple, an easy dinner for two.

Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, thawed
1 egg
1/2 to 1 cup of buttermilk (or milk of your choice)
1 tomato, sliced (in lieu of mozzarella, I didn’t have any on hand but it’s also not gentle on my stomach)
1 cup of homemade spaghetti sauce, or marinara sauce
1 1/2 cups of gf bread crumbs (or rice cereal, crushed finely)
1 tablespoon of seasoning (I use Emeril’s Essence, great for anything fried)
Parmesan cheese, for sprinkling over chicken (you can buy the cheap kind in the green canister, I won’t judge)
Oil, for pan frying

Preheat the oven to 350. Place your chicken breasts in a large zip-lock bag and pound ’em out, to about half an inch thick (mine were huge so I ended up cutting them in half, giving me 4 pieces of chicken). Don’t have a legit masher thingy? No problem. Use a mug with a round bottom, like I did. (Hey, it works.) In a large bowl, whisk the egg with half a cup of milk, and let your chicken breasts soak in this while you prepare your breading (either breadcrumbs or cereal with the tablespoon of seasoning, in a large bowl or on a plate), slice the tomatoes (or mozzarella), and heat up your skillet with a little bit of oil.

photo 1 (3)

Once your skillet is hot, lift out a chicken breast and let the excess milk drip off, then press each side into your breading, and place gently in the hot skillet. Fry one side for 4-5 minutes, until lightly browned, flip, and then cover with a few spoonfuls of marinara/spaghetti sauce, smother with parmesan, and top with a few slices of tomato (or mozzarella).

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (1)

Remove from heat once assembled and transfer to the oven. Let bake for about 20 minutes, just to let the chicken cook through. I then broiled for a few minutes to get some heat on my tomatoes. Serve over left-over spaghetti, or make some fresh pasghettis, and you’ve got an awesomely delicious meal. Chow down.

photo 5 (1)

