Tags

, , , ,

Fried food – any type of fried food – you put it in front of me, and I will probably eat it. My eyes go all big and my mouth starts watering and I really don’t like to share. I get kind of rabid about it… just ask Alex. If there’s a good dipping sauce? Forget it. I’ve gone off the deep end.

It’s a big problem, for many reasons, but particularly because my body doesn’t appreciate the delicious goodness that is a TON of starchy flour, fat and oil.

Sigh.

While french fries are truly my favorite (ask Jenee… she loves them just as much as I do!), I also love fried pickles, and I was dying for some right around the Super Bowl. I also needed to come up with some good snack foods for our Super Bowl party. Hmmm.

Yep, you guessed it. I went on a gluten-free-fried-pickle-batter google spree. After some time searching, I finally found a recipe that I thought looked fairly easy and met all of my desires (cornmeal was a must, you can’t have real fried pickles if the batter doesn’t have cornmeal).

I have made some tweaks to the original recipe, linked here, and of course – adapted it to be GF.

Fried Pickles

This recipe will batter and fry an entire 16oz jar of dill pickle chips.

Ingredients

1/2 C Half and Half
1-2 tsp Pickle Juice (from your jar), or White Vinegar
1 (16 oz) Jar Dill Pickle Chips
1/2 C All Purpose Gluten Free Flour
1/2 C Cornmeal (White or Yellow)
1/2 tsp Oregano
1/2 tsp Paprika
1/2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Cajun Seasoning
1 Quart of Oil for Frying (we use a combination of 1/2 Coconut Oil and 1/2 Vegetable Oil)

Combine your half and half and pickle juice (or vinegar) in a medium-sized bowl. Drain your pickles, and dry them with paper towels until most of the excess moisture is gone.

IMG_0829

Place the pickles in the pickle juice mixture and let sit for 5-15 minutes.

IMG_0830

My bowl was clearly a little too small, but I kept flipping the pickles, so it did the trick.

Next, get a gallon ziplock bag and place your flour, cornmeal and all seasonings inside. Shake the mixture to combine well.

IMG_0828

Once your pickles have finished soaking, place them all into the bag with the cornmeal mixture, and shake gently to coat all of the pickles evenly. Gently remove the pickles from the bag and place on a paper towel or plate next to your frying “station.”

IMG_0834

Heat up your oil in a deep-fryer or deep skillet. I guess 375 is a good temperature, but we always use a skillet and know our oil is ready when we drop a pickle in and it starts to fry. You can also drip a little water onto the oil and if it spits and pops, the oil should be ready. Not scientific, but it does the trick.

Fry the pickles in three batches for about two minutes, or until golden brown. Remove and drain on another paper towel, and serve immediately with ranch dressing, or my spicy aioli.

IMG_0837

These are super yum – crunchy and not soggy at all. They were a big hit at the Super Bowl party! Our friend, who had never had fried pickles before, said that they were delicious!

They were so good, in fact, that we made them again a few nights ago and served them as a side with our dinner.

IMG_0838

Okay, so it’s not the healthiest dinner I’ve ever made, but there’s spinach on the plate there, and pickles were once cucumbers… which are vegetables, AND cornmeal is derived from corn, which is a vegetable, so I say it’s okay.

Just kidding, that’s total Jen logic. I just wanted the fried pickles again.

Enjoy!

Jen

Linked to Gluten Free Tuesday!

