Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you live in Boston, you might have heard of Moogy’s, and you might have had the pleasure of curing your hangover with their massive breakfast plates, or stuffing your face with their sandwiches. I did have that pleasure, once, before my doctor made me quit (gluten, that is). Unfortunately or fortunately, I can’t decide, I tried their “Rude Awakening” pancakes. O. M. G. Amazing. I’ve been pining away for them for the last couple of years. They’re the size of your face, with so many flavors, ooey gooey and delicious. Finally, I decided to conquer my fears and try my hand at recreating it. And I did it. And I succeeded. And it was glorious. (I adjusted and doubled the Buckwheat Pancakes recipe and came up with this.)

Ingredients:
3/4 cup of buckwheat flour
1/4 cup of tapioca flour
1 cup of potato starch
2 cups of buttermilk
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
4 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4 cup of melted butter
1 banana, sliced
1/2 cup of chocolate chips
1/2 cup of blueberries
Powdered Sugar, for dusting

Mix together the dry ingredients, then the wet ingredients, except for the banana, chocolate chips and blueberries. Heat an 8-inch skillet over medium heat, and have your fruit and chocolate at the ready. I would also recommend having another, larger skillet ready, on medium heat, right next to your other skillet. Unless you’re an expert flipper, it isn’t very easy to flip these giant pancakes, so I cheated and just dumped it quickly into another hot skillet. And this frees up your 8-inch skillet for another pancake! Win.

photo 1 (1)

Pour 3/4 a cup of batter into the 8-inch skillet, and then place blueberries, chocolate chips, and a few banana slices on top. (I originally poured a full cup, which gave me 4 full pancakes and one smaller one. With 3/4 a cup you’ll get 6 perfect pancakes.) Let cook for a few minutes, until the batter starts to rise over the toppings and bubble, slightly browned on bottom. Then pick up your skillet and flip your pancake into the waiting skillet, so much easier than trying to figure out how to flip it in the same pan. Cook for a few more minutes, checking on the bottom to see that it’s browning slightly. Then onto your plate, sprinkle with powdered sugar, slather with butter and syrup, and pig out!

photo 2

Eat two of them, it’s ok. But any more and you might explode.

photo 3 (1)

Whether or not you’ve had the real thing, these are amazing. Make them for breakfast and your partner/roommate will love you. The End.

