Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Just got back from the Boston Bloggers awesome event at Flywheel Sports (I’m dying), and I thought it appropriate to post a recipe for pizza. Because that’s what I want right now. A giant, double stuffed, meat covered, cheesey dripping pizza. I would eat the whole thing. But instead all I have is this to get me through ANOTHER snow storm:

photo (4)

And House of Cards. (I’m a day late, I know.) (And that’s a cute little wine-chocolate pairing kit my mom sent me! The dark chocolate with raspberry is supposed to go with Rose, but I only have Pink Moscato…close enough.)

Oh! One more thing. I met two lovely ladies at the event today, Kristina at Appetite for Instruction and Jane at Live Like It’s Shark Week (major win on her blog name, just sayin’). You MUST go check them out when you get the chance! 🙂

Ok. Pizza.

This recipe should look familiar to you, you who reads my posts (right, there’s someone out there who does?). Anywho, it’s the same as my focaccia bread recipe, just flattened out and pre-baked before adding toppings! And it’s AWESOME. Marco said: “It tastes like real pizza. I mean, it IS real pizza! Like we’re eating an artisanal pizza cafe. You should keep making pizza.” That…is the greatest compliment of all time.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup of buckwheat flour (or millet or sorghum)
3/4 cup of potato starch
1/2 cup of tapioca flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of sugar
1 teaspoon of psyllium husk
1 1/2 teaspoons of instant yeast
3/4 cup of water
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning, Italian seasoning, whatevs

Preheat oven to 375. Mix together all dry ingredients in a large bowl, but one that still fits in your microwave. Add the water and oil and then get in there with your hands once it all starts coming together. Knead it until well combined. Cover loosely with plastic wrap. Wet a towel and microwave it until quite hot, 2 minutes or so. Put your bowl of dough into the microwave and cover with the hot dish towel. Let sit in your steamy microwave for 12-15 minutes. Do this whole thing 2 or 3 times, until the dough has risen to almost twice it’s size. Your dough will have kind of a funny texture now so you have to knead it a little bit again to get the stretch back. Roll it out on parchment paper until about the size of your pizza stone (or a greased round sheet pan, or one of those pizza pan things). Here’s the messy thing I did to get my dough onto the stone: Sprinkled the dough with cornmeal and patted it down, placed stone on top and then flipped it and peeled the parchment paper off. You lose a little cornmeal, but hey, it works really well.

photo 1

Pre-bake for about 15 minutes, until looking firm and a little cracked. Then add your toppings, bake for about 8 more minutes plus a little broiling if you want a browner crust, and boom. Pizza.

photo 3

Next time I’ll roll out my dough a little thinner, we didn’t get the crispest of crusts on the top side, but the outer edge and bottom were perfect.

Now, to the couch! From which I may never get up again…

20140220-213104.jpg

Try with bacon and asparagus, you won’t be disappointed. (Because it’s bacon, and if you sauté your asparagus in the bacon grease real quick, it’ll be even better.)

