Tags

, , , ,

This week, I’m all about super easy dishes. I don’t feel like spending a whole lot of time in the kitchen, but I still want to eat (fairly) healthy, delicious food. I refuse to compromise.

So, even though I don’t generally eat breads – I decided that I wanted meatball sandwiches. Not meatball “wraps”, and not pasta. Sandwiches. I threw this recipe together on a whim – and even if it isn’t the healthiest recipe I’ve ever made, it sure is quick, easy and delicious.

Meatball Sandwiches

This recipe yields about 28 meatballs – plenty for four sandwiches (with 4 meatballs per sandwich) – with enough leftover for an easy gluten free pasta (or spaghetti squash) lunch or leftover sandwiches.

Ingredients

1.5 lbs ground beef (or turkey, or chicken)
1 Egg
Marinara Sauce
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Gluten Free Buns (I use Udi’s), Sliced Bread or French Bread
Seasoned Salt, Pepper, Parsley, Garlic Powder and Italian Seasoning to taste

For your optional Garlic Butter:
1 clove garlic, crushed or finely diced
2-3 Tb Softened Butter

Preheat your oven to 375. Mix up your ground beef, egg and all of the dry seasonings together in a large bowl. Roll the mixture into small meatballs, and place them about half an inch apart on a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Bake for about 25-30 minutes, or until cooked all the way through.

IMG_0753

I used 93% lean ground beef, and the meatballs were just a *tad* dry. They still tasted great – but if you don’t want to deal with dryness, just use a less-lean meat (85% lean ground beef would probably work great). Turkey and chicken will be more dry, because they are naturally lean.

IMG_0758

While the meatballs are cooking, heat up some marinara sauce in a pan on the stove.

Mix together your garlic and butter in a small bowl and spread onto each open surface of your bread or bun. Place in a toaster oven or broiler until just browned on top. I always find that burgers and such taste better when the bread is warm.

Now, assembly. I scooped out a bit from my gluten free buns to get rid of some of the bread and make room for my meatballs, but it isn’t necessary. I layered a few sprinkles of cheese onto the bottom piece of bread, then my meatballs, and then topped with two or three heaping spoonfuls of marinara sauce, just a tad more cheese, and the top bun. All ready to eat! IMG_0770 Creamy Cucumber Salad

I always try to have a veggie with my main dish, but tonight I wanted something really light, since the meatball sandwiches are a bit heavier than usual for us.

For some reason, we had like a million cucumbers in the fridge (ok – maybe 4), and they were going to go bad if I didn’t use them. So, I figured I’d make this recipe – with my own spin.

This makes about 5 servings and is a nice, light addition to any meal, or on its own as a snack.

Ingredients

2 Cucumbers, peeled and sliced
3 Roma Tomatoes, chopped (or some grape tomatoes, halved)
1/2 Vidalia Onion, thinly sliced
1/4 C Sour Cream
1 Tb Olive Oil
1 Tb Apple Cider Vinegar
Salt, Pepper, Dill and Parsley to taste

Make sure all ingredients are very cold. Mix everything well in a large bowl and serve immediately. This doesn’t do too well as a leftover dish.

IMG_0757

 

Success! We didn’t spend forever in the kitchen, and got a hearty, delicious meal for dinner.

 

Cheers!

Jen

