Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes I get a bug, and I need a fancy brunch. But not one that requires all my dollars, or me leaving the house. So, homemade crepes it is! But this time I felt like making them with buckwheat flour, rather than the ones I’ve made before with rice flour. The Ruhlman ratio for crepes is 2 parts liquid, 2 parts egg, 1 part flour, easy peasy. Add a little chocolate, stuff it with whatever you want, and you’ve got yourself a heavenly meal. (And healthy, right?)

Ingredients:
2 ounces of buckwheat flour (just over 1/3 of a cup)
2 eggs (equals 4 ounces)
1/2 cup of buttermilk (4 ounces)
1-2 tablespoons of sugar
1 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder
2-3 tablespoons of water

Just mix it all up in a bowl. Since I used buttermilk, which is quite thick, I had to add a few tablespoons of water to get that really thin batter, but if you use another type of milk, dairy or otherwise, you might be able to skip that step.

So, this calls for 2 things: low heat, and patience. 🙂 You’ll notice the difference in the picture below between my first couple of crepes and then those that I finally got right. The heat was too high and my pan wasn’t really ready (like how your first couple of pancakes look a little funny).

Top 2 were the first, then I lowered the heat down to 2.5 and got the bottom one

Top 2 were the first, then I lowered the heat down to 2.5 and got the bottom one

In a good non-stick pan, gently brush a tiny bit of oil over the surface of the pan. If you don’t have one of those brush thingys, you can use the edge of a paper towel, that works, too. Just don’t burn it.

Start pouring a quarter cup of batter into the center of the pan, then pour toward the edges of the circle. Swirl the batter around until it doesn’t move anymore, and then let cook for about 2 minutes. With a flexible spatula, gently lift up the edges of the crepe, all the way around the circle. Then try to get your spatula as far underneath it as you can. Tilting the pan, lift the crepe up and gently flip over. I know, that sounds impossible. But you can do it. It’s not quite as fragile as you might think, and lifting it up isn’t going to tear it in half. (In my Rice Flour Crepe post, I mentioned that you can simply turn on your oven broiler and stick your pan in the oven for a few seconds to more easily cook the top side. You can still do that here, if you’re nervous about flipping the crepe, but I find that these are much less delicate than the rice flour ones.)

photo 3 (10)
 
Cook for just a minute on the other side. It’ll bubble up a little bit, but when you remove it to a plate it’ll smooth back out.

photo 1 (13)
 
photo 2 (14)

This made about 9 small crepes, including my messed up ones (which still tasted fine, we ate them ALL). I made a yogurt with fresh fruit filling (bananas, blueberries and blackberries), and topped with a little chocolate syrup. Yummmm. And minus the cocoa powder, these would be a FANTASTIC savory crepe. I’m thinking braised duck…oh my oh my. Is it dinner time yet?

