Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been meaning to make molasses cookies for a while now, because what else do you do with molasses? I forget why it’s even in my pantry. But I’m also on a new mission to try some gluten-free, egg-free recipes. One of my co-workers has a daughter with more allergies than should be humanly possible, and he’s always looking for tasty foods that she can eat. And I know she isn’t the only one struggling to eat good food that won’t wreak havoc on her system. So, I started with this Betty Crocker recipe, and spent some time tweaking it. I looked at the gluten-free version, too, and decided that this would be a good opportunity to replace the egg with something else. Here, I went with vegetable oil, and I think it worked out pretty well. To be honest, I’m not quite sure what texture molasses cookies are supposed to have (I think my brain has blocked out all things gluten to save myself the misery), but I think they’re pretty damn good. They still need to run by the allergy-dad taste tester, so I’ll have to get back to you on Monday. APPROVED! But in the meantime, here’s my recipe (that’s gluten free, dairy free, AND egg free!).

Note: The batter is best refridgerated for about 30 minutes. Just wanted you to know. I hate when I get to that part of the recipe without realizing it before, and I have no time to wait. Or I’m too impatient.

Ingredients:
1 cup of buckwheat flour
1 cup of potato starch
1/2 cup of tapioca flour
1 cup of light brown sugar
1/4 cup of molasses
3/4 cup of shortening
scant 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of ginger powder
1/2 teaspoon of clove powder
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
1/8 teaspoon of salt
Granulated sugar, for rolling the dough

Preheat oven to 350. Cream the shortening with the molasses, vegetable oil, and brown sugar. (Tip: if you put the oil in your measuring cup first, then the molasses, the molasses will slide out cleanly.) Then dump in everything else, and use your hands to knead it all together. It should actually resemble cookie dough, not too sticky. For best results, refrigerate for about half an hour.

dough
 
Pinch off little over a tablespoon of dough and roll it into a ball, then flatten it into a disk, about a quarter inch thick. These cookies don’t spread very much at all, so leaving them in a ball shape will you give you really thick (but soft) cookies. Press one side into the granulated sugar, then place on a sheetpan covered in parchment paper. You can put these fairly close together since they don’t expand too much. Now, I highly recommend that you start by baking just ONE cookie, so you can test your dough. Too dry? Add more molasses, a tablespoon or 2. Too wet? Add more buckwheat or tapioca flour, alternating tablespoons. And you can adjust how you shape your cookies, too, depending on what you like.

Small ones, larger ones, a little too dry for me so I adjusted and redid them

Small ones, larger ones, a little too dry for me so I adjusted and redid them

Then bake the rest, for about 10 minutes. The edges will darken and the sugar will be just absorbed. Let cool for a few minutes on the sheetpan before you move them to a cooling rack.

photo 3 (9)
 
Store in an airtight container or in a ziplock bag. Let them rest for a while before eating (if you can), they get much better overnight (but they’re still good out of the oven, just extra extra soft). They’ll last quite a few days and won’t harden, like a lot of gf baked goods do, so that’s a major win in my book! Enjoy!

