Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was met with disappointment when I showed up to work on Friday empty handed. I seem to have set a precedent for bringing in snacks. Oops. So, it was requested that I bring in something savory for Monday. I can do that.

I had it in mind to make some bite-sized quiches (or tarts? I can’t really figure out the difference), and I decided to take my own advice in using my cornmeal crust to make them (see my Chicken Pot Pie post). I watched Sandra Lee one day make these cute little mushroom-walnut tarts, and since I had a box of mushrooms in the fridge I wanted to make those tarts and something else to compliment them. Well, I used the whole recipe for the cornmeal crust and the ratio of crust to filling was just way off, and the tarts weren’t quite as flavorful as I had anticipated. Those didn’t make the cut.

way too much crust, I should have halved the recipe

way too much crust, I should have halved the recipe

So, I used the other half of my box of mushrooms to make these quiches, and used the walnuts to make this Savory Sweet Potato Tart (quiche?) instead, splitting the dough in half to use for each (I used a mini muffin tin, if you make these larger you might be able to get away with a whole recipe of the crust for one regular 12-count muffin tin).

Crust (this is the full recipe, if you’re making only this quiche or using a mini muffin tin, cut this recipe in HALF):
1 cup of cornmeal
1/2 cup of buckwheat flour
4 tablespoons of butter
1/4 cup of shortening
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1/3 cup of cold water, enough to bind the ingredients

Filling:
1 cup of frozen spinach (I buy the bagged kind so I can use just as much as I need)
5 white button mushrooms (half of a 10 oz. box), diced
1/2 of a small onion, diced
1 teaspoon of thyme
1/4 cup of buttermilk (or your preference of liquid)
2 eggs
1/4 cup of shredded cheese
Olive Oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Make the crust first, combining all ingredients in a small bowl and kneading the dough with your hands. Divide the dough into 12 pieces, rolled into little balls. I find that the easiest way to do this is to roll the dough into one ball, then cut into quarters. Gently squeeze out each quarter into a rough tube shape, and then divide that tube into 3 pieces, rolling each into a ball. Grease your mini muffin tin with shortening and press each ball into the tin. These should be perfectly sized for coming right up to the top, with no overhang. Place in the fridge while you make the filling.

much better!

much better!

Preheat the oven to 350. In a nonstick pan, saute onion, mushrooms, and frozen spinach in a tablespoon or two of olive oil, until the mushrooms have browned and the spinach has fully thawed. Season generously with thyme, salt, and pepper (taste it now to check, before you add raw eggs), remove from burner and let cool.

In a small bowl, combine the eggs, milk and shredded cheese, whisking to combine. Add in the cooled spinach-mushroom mixture, and stir to coat. Remove the muffin tin from the fridge and fill each one to the top (I like to add one twist from my sea salt grinder on top of each). Bake for 22-25 minutes, and a final 2-3 minutes on broil, to brown the tops slightly. Done! Wasn’t that easy?

20140126-230714.jpg

 
Have some filling left over? Don’t throw that away! Seal it up and use it tomorrow morning in an omelette for breakfast. 🙂

