Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I made these tarts to pair with the Spinach and Mushroom Mini Quiches that I made to take to work (since my Mushroom Walnut Tarts failed). I took inspiration from this recipe and used what I had on hand. And, since there was lots of dairy in the quiche (and since I had a glass of wine in my hand), I decided to replace the liquid in that recipe with white wine. 🙂

Crust (this is the full recipe, if you’re making only this tart or using a mini muffin tin, cut this recipe in HALF):
1 cup of cornmeal
1/2 cup of buckwheat flour
4 tablespoons of butter
1/4 cup of shortening
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1/3 cup of cold water, enough to bind the ingredients

Filling:
1 sweet potato
1/2 a small onion, diced
1/2 cup of chopped walnuts
1/2 of a tart apple, diced
2 eggs
1/4 cup of shredded sharp white cheddar
Sea salt, to taste
White wine, for drinking for cooking and deglazing pan

Make the crust first, combining all ingredients in a small bowl and kneading the dough with your hands. Divide the dough into 12 pieces, rolled into little balls. I find that the easiest way to do this is to roll the dough into one ball, then cut into quarters. Gently squeeze out each quarter into a rough tube shape, and then divide that tube into 3 pieces, rolling each into a ball. Grease your mini muffin tin with shortening and press each ball into the tin. These should be perfectly sized for coming right up to the top, with no overhang. Place in the fridge while you make the filling.

much better!

 
Preheat oven to 350. Stab the sweet potato a couple of times with a fork and microwave for 6-8 minutes on a plate. Since I was using the same pan from previously sautéing veggies for my mini quiches, I deglazed it with a little white wine (cold from the fridge, this just picks up all the brown bits from the bottom of the pan). Saute the onions, walnuts, and apple, adding a few splashes of white wine to keep the pan moist (I probably used no more than half a cup in total), cooking until the onion is translucent, about 8 minutes. Remove from the heat and let cool.

In a small bowl, mash up the sweet potato (skin removed), add the 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of shredded cheese, stirring to combine. Add the walnut-apple mixture, give it a few cranks of sea salt, and stir again to combine. Remove the muffin tin from the fridge and fill each to the top with the filling. Bake for 20 minutes, and then an extra 2-3 minutes on broil, to brown the tops slightly.

20140126-230631.jpg

Have filling left over? I did, too. A lot. So I put it in some corn tortillas and baked it like taquitos, then covered it in a home-made cheese sauce. It was pretty good actually.

Taquitos

 
Just be creative!

