Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I had a crap ton of oil left in my skillet from frying up those delicious Sweet Potato Doughnut Holes, because they actually didn’t soak up any oil (making them fairly healthy, despite being fried). And at my house, we waste NOTHING. So, naturally, I needed to fry something else.

Hush Puppies. Where did this craving come from? No idea. But I had to make it happen.

I took this recipe from the Neelys (they’re from my part of the country, so I trust their southern recipes to be authentic), and got to work.

Ingredients:
1 cup of cornmeal
3/4 cup of gf bread crumbs (sooo many cubes of bread in my freezer from my French Bread baking spree) ((I need to re-do that recipe, I have ideas))
1 cup of buttermilk (might have been a little too much, maybe 3/4 cup next time)
1 egg
1/3 cup of finely diced (minced?) onion
1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of sugar
1/4 cup of grated cheddar cheese
Pinch of cayenne pepper (Marco can’t handle too much spice, so you could add more)
Healthy pinch of paprika (that’s bigger than a pinch, like 2 pinches)
Extra healthy pinch of garlic powder (that’s like 3 pinches slash a palm full because I LOVE garlic)

Heat up your oil (you’ll get prettier hush puppies if you have a deep fryer with temp settings, but I don’t have one of those so I just use my cast iron skillet).

In a large bowl, throw in all them ingredients. Mix ‘er up.

Ingredients

 
The reason I said perhaps it was a little too much buttermilk is because in this recipe I used gf bread that refused to soak up moisture right away, so my batter wasn’t holding together very well. I ended up having to use my hands to squeeze the batter into a fritter shape, and then gently dropping it into the oil. A little messy, but it worked just fine. And the results were seriously amazing.

Frying

 
I didn’t time this because, as usual, I was multitasking, but I would say it depends on what you like. My dad always made his hush puppies a little on the darker side and that’s what I like, so I waited until they were dark brown on all sides. But do keep an eye on how fast they’re cooking. Halfway through I had to lower my temp a bit (from 4 to 3.5) to prevent them from burning. But then again I have a sh!tty electric stove. And no oil thermometer.

Hush Puppies!

Hush Puppies!

Awesome dinner.

Awesome dinner.

I also made those baked salmon fingers, above, but I kind of found it to be a waste of salmon, which I was thinking when I read the recipe but I did it anyways. And bread crumbs definitely weren’t the best idea. If I do this again (with another fish) I’ll post a recipe for it.

About Jenee Fortier

Gluten free cooking doesn't have to be complicated, and it doesn't have to be expensive. You don't need fancy ingredients, you just have to KNOW your ingredients! My goal is to create easy, delicious meals that are either naturally gluten free or involve very little fuss to get there. You don't have to let your stomach control you, you can take control in your kitchen, and I hope this blog helps you to be happy and eat healthy without breaking the bank.