Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

My sweet tooth should have completely rotted out by now, but somehow, all my teeth have survived in tact. Luckily, I walk to and from work every day. Otherwise, I’d have to join a gym. And that would be…miserable.

Anyways, after dinner the other night, we most obviously needed dessert. And there was a banana getting awfully ripe in the fruit bowl. And I had just a few tablespoons of cocoa powder left. This situation most obviously called for making Jen’s Microwave Chocolate Banana Mug Cake. But, I need to lay off the dairy this week (she said after eating a quesadilla) and this cake most definitely calls for some sort of whipped cream. I keep seeing posts about whipped coconut cream (many successes and many failures) and thought I’d give it a whirl myself.

Unfortunately, this is not a good impulsive recipe, which is how I typically cook and bake. You have to put the can of coconut cream in the fridge for a good 24 hours, which means I couldn’t have it RIGHT NOW. So I had to wait. *Sigh*

But I did it, and it worked! And my tummy isn’t angry. Win.

TJ Coconut Cream

 
I’ve read that the consistency of your whipped coconut cream might depend on the brand that you use, that some might perhaps have too much water? I used Trader Joe’s brand, and after a full 24 hours in the fridge it really thickened, with only a few tablespoons of coconut water left in the bottom of the can.

I scooped it out into a bowl with about 3 tablespoons of powdered sugar (you can adjust depending on how sweet you want it), and whipped it with my hand mixer for just a few minutes. Even though it seems clumpy when you pull it out of the can, it really does whip into a smooth consistency.

whipped

 
And it’s definitely coconutty. Just sayin’.

I got all fancy and scooped it into a piping bag to top my mug cake with. It was quite tasty, and I think it was a perfect match with the banana and chocolate flavors. And healthy, right?

Followed Jen's recipe exactly, took 2 minutes in my microwave

Followed Jen’s recipe exactly, took 2 minutes in my microwave

photo 4

 
Update: I stored the leftovers in a glass jar in the fridge, and it reverted back to the thick, creamy state, like how it was in the can. No biggie. I spooned a giant dollop onto my oatmeal the next morning and it was delicious. I also used some to make a halved recipe of Jen’s Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie, with Lactaid, for a dairy-free version. The possibilities for re-use are endless! Can you make ice cream out of this stuff, too?

