Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I stayed home from work today, my body was just exhausted from fighting off the evil glutens. One of my coworkers texted me, “Hey hope you’re feeling better. Whenever I don’t feel well I eat a donut, you should give it a try.” Damn you, Tom! ALL DAY I’ve been craving donuts. Real, fried donuts, not like the fluffy baked kind I’ve made before. Finally, I made my way over to the greatest website of all time: Pinterest. Somehow (as one does in Pinterestland), I found this recipe. DONE.

I ended up doing it a tad bit differently, making it both gluten and dairy free. I think the original author must have used a different type of potato, you’ll notice the color difference in our dough balls. And I didn’t have to use any liquid at all because by microwaving them in their skins they’ll retain a lot of their moisture. You may have to use a tiny bit of milk, but certainly not a cup as in the original recipe. Enjoy! (And for a variation in ingredients, scroll to the bottom and read how Jen made hers!)

Ingredients:
2 large sweet potatoes
2 cups of sweet glutinous rice flour
1/3 cup of buckwheat flour (you could use oat, sorghum or millet)
1/3 cup of granulated sugar
1 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
Bowl of sugar and a pinch of cinnamon, for coating

Heat a large skillet on the stovetop with about 2 inches of oil (I used my cast iron skillet). This should be a low heat, I started mine at 3.5 and eventually brought it down to 2.5. These need just a little time to cook so we don’t want the outside to burn.

Stab your sweet potatoes with a fork a couple of times, all the way around. Set on a plate and microwave in 5-minute intervals, 3 times should do it. Let cool for a few minutes before you try to peel off the skin. In a large bowl, mash the sweet potatoes, and add in all the ingredients. Using your hands, mix and knead until you get a well-formed dough.

photo 1 (9)

 
Pull off little chunks of dough and roll into doughnut hole-sized balls. You should be able to make about 2 dozen doughnut holes.

Fry about 6 at a time, for about 5 minutes, rolling them over frequently to prevent any one side from getting overly browned. Remove with a slotted spoon to a paper towel-lined plate. Once cooled slightly, roll in the sugar-cinnamon bowl and return to the plate.

photo 2 (10)

 
O.M.G. These are amazing. And the best part? Marco hates sweet potatoes. I had to physically restrain him from eating all of these so that I could get some to work. Go make these. Now.

Sweet Potato Doughnut Holes

 
P.S. – Jen made these too, but with a few different ingredients. She used 1 and 3/4 C regular white rice flour, and about 1/4 C of Raw Coconut Palm Sugar substituted for the last 1/4 C of the rice flour (this helps re-create the sweetness of sweet white rice flour, since she didn’t have any) and then she used 1/3 C millet flour. She also used a mixture of white sugar and raw coconut palm sugar in her bowl of rolling sugar. She fried them in a mixture of about 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 vegetable oil, filled about 1 inch up her pan. Her recipe yielded 30 doughnut holes – about 10 of which her husband promptly ate.

Even with all of these changes, they still turned out AH-MAZING.

Oh – side note. These doughnut holes aren’t oily at all, even though they’re fried. This is be because rice flour doesn’t allow nearly as much oil absorption as wheat flours (you can read more about that here). Ha! Take that, Gluten!

20140205-125439.jpg

