Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Marco and I were getting together with some friends and the dinner theme (and host) was Mexican, with guac, margaritas, and enchiladas. I was tasked with dessert, my favorite, so I obviously wanted it to make sense with dinner. I remembered that my mom makes a cake that everyone raves about, and she sent me this recipe: Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake. 🙂 Let the experimenting begin.

Ingredients:
2 whole tablets of Abuelita chocolate
1 cup butter, softened (2 sticks)
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1/2 cup chocolate syrup
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups gf flour (I used rice flour, tapioca flour, potato starch)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
Tablespoon(s) of shortening and flour for greasing bundt pan
Garnish: powdered sugar

I have to tell you, it was like choco-pocalyse in my kitchen the first time I made this…I magically got the ingredient combination correct, that wasn’t the problem. The cheap spring-form pan I bought, that was the problem. Within 10 minutes half the cake was free-flowing in my oven. I tried to salvage what was left and put it in a cake pan…it kinda worked…

whoops...

whoops…

But it still turned out ok

But it still turned out ok

Well, I had to run to the store and get more butter and sugar. And a new pan. I couldn’t find a tube pan, so I went with a nice bundt pan, and I think that might be the best anyways. It gives the cake plenty of room to rise, so it’s not unbearably dense.

Ok, preheat the oven to 325. In a large bowl, cream the butter with an electric mixer for about 2 minutes, then gradually add in the sugar (I did a half cup at a time) and beat until fluffy, for 5 more minutes. Add in the eggs, one at a time, mixing until each one is incorporated.

Look! I found my first double yolk!

Look! I found my first double yolk!

In a small microwaveable bowl, melt the Abuelita on high in 30 second increments, stirring in between (shouldn’t take too much more than a minute). Add the 1/2 cup of chocolate syrup and teaspoon of vanilla, stirring to combine (this way you can quickly cool down the melted chocolate). Add the chocolate to the butter, sugar, egg mixture and mix just until combined. Add in the flour, first one cup, with half a cup of buttermilk. I folded it in before mixing so I wouldn’t end up covered in flour. Add another half cup of flour, the baking powder, baking soda and salt, and the rest of the buttermilk, and fold and stir to combine. Then add the final fourth of a cup, mixing for just another minute to combine. (Adding the flour in stages allows you to gauge the consistency of your cake batter, to see if you need more or less, depending on the kind of flours you’ve used). If you’ve made gluten-free cake before, you’ll be tempted to add more liquid to this batter, but don’t. It’s really light and fluffy because of the creamed butter, which will melt and serve as more liquid for the flour to absorb.

batter

 
Lightly grease with shortening all parts of your bundt pan, and then add a few tablespoons of gf flour, turning to cover and tapping out the excess. Don’t be tempted to pour every last bit of batter into your pan, it rises quite a bit and will flow over.

Bake for about an hour and 20 minutes (will vary depending on your actual oven temp and flours used), testing with a toothpick for doneness. Let cool on a rack for about 10 minutes, then run a knife along the edges to gently separate the cake from the pan. Place a large plate on top of the bundt pan, and invert the pan to reveal your lovely cake!

photo 3 (5)

 
This cake is fantastic. You would never know it’s gluten free. Make it. Now.

photo 2 (7)
