Tags

, , , , , ,

Last night, we had a great vegetarian dinner – Spinach Mushroom Polenta. It was delicious, but I always find that after I eat a vegetarian dish, I’m not completely full (lack of protein, maybe? Who knows).

So I started craving dessert. We usually keep mini Reeses cups in the freezer – but that wasn’t gonna cut it.

I needed something more substantial. Cake. I wanted cake.

Alex mentioned something about microwave cakes, and I was skeptical, but getting desperate. So I did some googling, and found an entire mug cake post on BuzzFeed – and they even had a gluten free recipe. What? Awesome.

Even better? I actually had everything I needed on hand to make it. Major win!

Microwave Chocolate Banana Mug Cake

This recipe makes two servings. It’s a very rich, chocolatey recipe – so I would recommend putting some kind of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream on top (unless you love the rich dark chocolate flavor, then leave it!).

Ingredients

1 Banana, the riper the better, but we used one that had just started to brown and it was fine
1/4 C Peanut Butter
1 Egg
2 tsp White Sugar
3 Tb Unsweetened Coca Powder (you can use 2 Tb if you don’t want it as chocolate-y)
Up to 1/4 C other add-ins (we used 2 Tb Slivered Almonds and 2 Tb Mini Chocolate Chips)
2 Mugs (small coffee mugs are best)

Mash up the banana in a bowl with a fork. Add your peanut butter and egg, and mix well – the batter will be clumpy. Add the sugar and cocoa, and mix until fairly smooth. Fold in your extra add-ins, and divide the batter between two mugs.

If made properly, the batter shouldn’t be take up more than half each mug. Microwave on high in 15-30 second increments until the cake has risen and is firm in the mug. It took about 1:45 in our microwave, but depending on the strength of yours, it may take more or less time.

Let cool for a few minutes and serve plain, or with whatever you’d like. We served ours with my Homemade Cinnamon Whiskey Whipped Cream, and it was delicious (you could also try a Whipped Coconut Cream for a dairy-free option).

This hit the spot for me. It was nutty and chocolatey and definitely had a cake-like texture. The best part? It was portion controlled, so I couldn’t go on a cake-eating-binge. Actually, I didn’t even finish all of mine!

photo 1

photo 3

If you want more of a Chocolate Chip Cookie Microwave Cake, replace the 3 T of cocoa powder with 3 T of vanilla protein powder, and use 1/4 C of mini chocolate chips for your add-ins. I actually preferred this version to the original.

Any way we make this – it’s my new favorite, 5 minute dessert. Yum!

 

Cheers!

Jen

