Tags

, , , ,

This is a super easy recipe – and you can tweak it for whatever you need. I needed something to go on my Microwave Chocolate Banana Mug Cake, and we didn’t have any whipped cream (in the can, like I usually buy it).

However, we did have heavy whipping cream in the fridge. So I did a quick search and found this basic recipe for whipped cream that seemed fairly easy. I’d never made whipped cream on my own before, and thought it would be super complicated.

Turns out, it’s really not. I will probably never buy whipped cream from a can again.

Cinnamon Whiskey Whipped Cream

I halved the original recipe, because it was supposed to make 16 servings. I would say that after this is all whipped up, it makes just over one cup of whipped cream… which Alex and I easily devoured. It was supposed to make 8 servings. I’m pretty sure that was a joke.

Ingredients

Standing Mixer (you can probably use a hand mixer here… but you’ll have to hold it for awhile)
1/2 C Heavy Whipping Cream
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 and 1/2 tsp Powdered Sugar
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Whiskey (Jack Daniels – it is gluten free, according to their website, while some other whiskies may not be)

Pour your heavy whipping cream in the mixer and beat on medium or medium-high until stiff peaks just start to form.

*Side Note: I never bake and I never use my mixer. Thus, I don’t understand what stiff peaks are. I’m the girl who tried making meringues in senior foods, and they turned out to be thin, hard candies instead (true story!). So, let me help those of you out who don’t know what stiff peaks look like: the cream should still look fairly smooth, and when you lift the mixer arm out of the bowl, the cream stuck in the mixer arm should hold its shape pretty well. It shouldn’t be dripping, but it also shouldn’t be clumpy.

Next, lower your mixing speed to low, and add your vanilla, whiskey, powdered sugar and cinnamon. Turn the speed back up to medium, and mix well until the whipped cream is at the consistency you like. This is what ours looked like when we were finished – almost clumpy-looking, but it didn’t taste clumpy at all. It was very light and smooth.

Whipped CreamThis whipped cream had a really nice, light flavor. Just a tad of cinnamon, and an extremely mild whiskey flavor that was almost unnoticeable (which is fine, cause I don’t like whiskey that much). It went really well with our dessert, and took only about five minutes to make.

You can easily omit the cinnamon and whiskey to make a regular whipped cream – it would go very well with fresh fruit or any dessert that’s in need of a little bit extra.

Need something for a pumpkin pie? Add a tad of pumpkin pie spice and voila! You could probably add a little Baileys or Kahlua and make a coffee-flavored whipped cream, too. So many delicious options!

Cheers!

Jen

