Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while, but I don’t ever have quinoa flour. (Where do you even get that? Or can you just grind dry quinoa into a flour? This seems too complicated.) So, I gave up and decided to try it with my regular gluten-free blend. I just fell in love with the fact that it doesn’t take more than 20 minutes. It did, however, take Marco more than 20 minutes to come back from the store with tuna so that I could make tuna salad. Hence the late dinner post. Oh well.

Skillet Bread

 
This is an awesome 7 ingredient recipe. I, however, did not have those 7 ingredients, so here is what I did have:

Ingredients:
1/3 cup of buckwheat flour
1/3 cup of gf flour blend (rice flour, tapioca flour, potato starch)
1 egg
1/3 cup of water
1/3 cup of greek honey-flavored yogurt
Pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

In a small bowl, mix together all the ingredients except the baking soda. Set the bowl aside (for about 5 minutes) while you heat up an 8-inch skillet on medium-low heat (on my dinky electric stove, that’s a 3). Add the baking soda to your batter and give it a quick stir, until bubbles form. Pour a little olive oil in the heated pan, and then pour your batter into the skillet, using a spatula to scrape it all out. Cook on this side for about 7 minutes, then quite expertly flip it, without making any mess at all. Come one, you can do it. (Kidding, hold the skillet over the sink, just in case you have…an accident.) The original post said to cook this side for about 6 more minutes, but I find that my two attempts were a bit undercooked. It isn’t the end of the world, because you can slice the bread and cook it some more in the toaster oven before ready to eat. It seems that getting the temperature right on this recipe is key. My first attempt resulted in a slightly-burned side and a less-cooked side. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the buckwheat flavor, so on my second attempt I added a pinch of basil and thyme.

Skillet Bread Sandwich

 
Even though mine didn’t seem to rise as much as the original author’s did, I still love it. It’s so soft and great for making little finger sandwiches, like the one above (tuna salad). Or just for tearing off a little piece every time you walk through the kitchen. Marco loved them. And so did Chester, the cat, who ran off with a piece in his mouth. He also ate half of a zucchini bread muffin. I swear I feed him normal cat food.

