Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I spent an entire weekend trying to make French bread, so 4 pounds of rice flour later…I have lots of bread in my kitchen. What to do with it, you ask? Bread pudding, naturally. 🙂

I adapted this recipe from William Sonoma, to be gluten free, obviously, but I’m also a huge fan of personal serving sizes, so I wanted to make it in a muffin tin. I would do everything in muffin tins if I could.

Ingredients:
2 loaves of gluten-free French Bread, or other gluten-free bread
5 eggs
3/4 cup of brown sugar
1/4 cup of granulated sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/2 cup of milk (I used almond)
1 1/4 teaspoons of cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (or ground nutmeg)
Pinch of salt

photo 5

Lightly grease a muffin tin or line with muffin liners and preheat the oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, milk and salt. Add in your cubed pieces of bread, enough to coat all pieces well with the egg mixture, and let sit for about half an hour, in order for the bread to soften (gluten-free bread will take some time to soak up the eggs). Using a large spoon, scoop your uncooked bread pudding into the muffing molds, as many as you can fill. (I originally put the bread cubes directly into the muffin molds and then poured the egg mixture over top, but this didn’t work so well. I didn’t have enough liquid to really fill all the molds but I tried to anyways, so the tops of my bread puddings were fairly dry.)

Place the muffin tin in a high-sided pan filled with an inch or two of hot water, and bake for about 45 minutes, until set. Remove from the oven and water pan and let cool. Using a knife or fork separate the bread puddings from the outer edge of the muffin tin and place on a serving platter or in a glass dish for refridgerating.

photo 2 (3)

Normally, people serve bread pudding with a whiskey sauce. But the celiac community is on the fence about whether or not distilled liquors are gluten free. If you know that certain alcohols don’t bother your system, then go for what works for you. I prefer to be safe, so let’s make a home-made…
“Kahlua” Cream Sauce. 🙂

Ingredients:
1/2 cup of water
1/3 cup of strong coffee
1/2 cup of gluten-free vodka (one made from 100% corn or potatoes, for example)
A smidge of the following for flavor, or any combination of: agave nectar, maple syrup, molasses
A smidge of vanilla
1/2 cup of sugar
1 cup of milk or cream (I used almond milk)
2 tablespoons of cornstarch dissolved in 2 tablespoons of water

In a saucepan, combine the water, vanilla, coffee, vodka, and whatever sugar flavorings you prefer (I had molasses on hand) over medium heat. Then add the granulated sugar and stir until dissolved, and then the cup of milk or cream. In a small cup or bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in water, and add this to your sauce on the stove (to thicken it). Let simmer, stirring constantly, until your sauce resembles a creamy, well, sauce (it should stick to the back of a spoon). Let cool and thicken a little more before pouring over your mini bread puddings. Holy YUUUMMM. (This makes a lot of sauce, I don’t know what I was thinking…)

photo 3 (3)
