Tags

, , , , ,

Every year, my family makes pancakes on Christmas morning. Usually, we buy the delicious mixes from Williams & Sonoma – but alas, they are not gluten free, so I can’t eat them anymore. Sad.

Since this is the first year I’ve really been GF, I tried using Jenee’s Buckwheat Pancake recipe, with a few tweaks of my own – to make some Christmas Morning Pancakes.

My favorite version of the Williams & Sonoma mix was always the eggnog pancake mix, so I decided to attempt some gluten free eggnog pancakes this year. I wasn’t sure how they would turn out – but they were actually pretty delicious!

Christmas Morning Pancakes

I took Jenee’s recipe and multiplied it by 1.5 (mostly because I forgot to put the eggnog in the first batch), but it still worked out just fine, and makes anywhere from 7-10 pancakes, depending on how big you make them.

Ingredients

1.5 C Buckwheat Flour
1.5 tsp Baking Powder
2.5 Tb White Sugar
1 tsp Salt
1.5 C Eggnog (the eggs in the EGGnog can substitute for the eggs originally called for in Jenee’s recipe. The rest of the nog substitutes as the milk!)
4 Tb Melted Butter
1-2 tsp Cinnamon (optional)

Mix all of your dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add your eggnog and melted butter, and mix well. Ta-da! Your batter is done.

The mixture should be fairly watery – not actually watery, but it shouldn’t be thick at all. If it’s too thick, add some milk or buttermilk until it becomes the desired consistency.

Pour about 1/3 C of batter onto a skillet and flip when you start to see little bubbles in the batter. Serve with maple syrup and butter (and sausage and bacon…. if you please).

photo 1Oh, my husband and I are total nerds… so our own little Christmas tradition is to make a few Star Wars pancakes (the molds are also from Williams & Sonoma). Super thick – but pretty awesome, they are.

 

Cheers!

Jen

