Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year!! I decided to spend my day off baking, gearing up for that snow storm that’s supposed to come rolling through tonight, and finishing off the booze we didn’t get to last night. Gotta stay warm somehow, ammiright? 🙂

Over Christmas break we had our annual family dinner, for which my mom and I set out to make a gluten-free Southern Pecan Pie, the only dessert I could eat…and apparently the only dessert my aunt could eat, too. I’ve discovered that yet another Fortier has been cursed with some form of gluten intolerance, but only she is nice enough to make all kinds of things with regular flour for her family (sorry, Marco, I ain’t that nice). She made a lovely peach cobbler that everyone else gobbled up, and I thought, well surely there’s a simple way to make a gluten-free cobbler so next time we could eat it, too! I asked my dad how he would describe the batter, and he said it was rather similar to pancake batter. So, naturally, I took him literally and decided to make a cobbler with actual pancake batter, my (Hodgson Mills actually) Buckwheat Pancake batter to be exact. And I’ll be damned if it didn’t work! This is for you Aunt Frankie.

Pear and Apple Cobbler

Pear and Apple Cobbler

Ingredients:
2 apples, sliced
2 pears, sliced
Sugar, Ground Cinnamon, and Ground Nutmeg for sprinkling
1 batch of Buckwheat Pancake batter plus 1/4 cup of sugar
1 tablespoon of butter for greasing the casserole dish
1/2 cup of walnuts and pecans with a sprinkle of brown sugar (optional)

Back in my gluten-eating days I used to make apple pies by first baking the apple slices in sugar and cinnamon, to draw out their natural sugar and flavor. I thought it might be a good idea to use that technique here. And since it’s neither peach season nor do I like peaches, I decided to go with apples and pears for this cobbler, but you could use any fruit combination that you’d like (fresh, not frozen).

collage

 
Preheat the oven to 375. Slice the apples and pears and arrange them on sheetpans covered in parchment paper. Generously sprinkle the top of the slices with sugar and cinnamon, and bake for about 12 minutes, just until bubbling and slightly turned in color (we don’t want to dry them out). Remove the sheetpans and place somewhere to cool. (Leave the oven on.)

While these were baking I sorted through my mixed nuts (on sale 2 for 1, so worth the extra work) for all the walnuts and pecans and came out with about half a cup. I spread them out on the toaster oven sheetpan with a healthy sprinkling of brown sugar and baked them at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes (in the toaster oven). You don’t have to take this extra step, of roasting them, but I thought it would add a nice touch. While those are browning (or not), prepare the batter, remembering to add the extra fourth cup of sugar (you can add more if you want a much sweeter cobbler, but I prefer the natural sweetness of the apples and pears). I actually didn’t have a full cup of buckwheat flour on hand so I used half a cup of buckwheat plus half a cup of my gf flour mix (rice flour, tapioca flour, and potato starch). You can use all buckwheat, some buckwheat with a gf flour blend, or all gf flour blend, it’s up to you.

Add a tablespoon of butter to your cobbler dish (I used a 7″X11″ rectangular baking dish) and place it in the oven for a minute to melt, and then remove it, swirling the butter around to thoroughly coat the bottom.

photo 4

 
Lift up the parchment paper ends and you should be able to just dump your fruit slices into the cobbler dish. Sprinkle your nut pieces on top, and then pour in the pancake batter, getting it in to all corners. Bake in the oven for about 40 minutes, just until bubbling and browned at the edges.

That’s it! So simple but really delicious. And this version works really well as a breakfast dish, or serve with a scoop of ice cream for dessert!

Hope you have a lovely 2014 day. Here’s to another year of good food, fun, and friends.

