Tags

, , , ,

The Holidays are by far my favorite time of the year – but are also really tiring. It was great to have my family come and stay for a week – and we did a LOT of cooking in that week… but I had no time to post! Family first is my motto 🙂

So clearly, because of Holiday festivities, I’ve been AWOL, but now that I’m getting back to my normal routine, I have some great recipes to share with you. The first one? Pumpkin Pie. It might be my favorite pie (after Cherry), and it’s probably the easiest type of pie to make. Wins all around!

I’ve made this pie twice now – once with this pie crust recipe from BRM and once with a pre-made GF pie crust. The GF pie crust was rock hard and super crunchy (I don’t know the brand – my mom brought it down)… so I would definitely recommend the BRM recipe instead. You can also use Jenee’s GF pie crust recipe that she’s posted here.

When I made (or, Alex made, I should say) the GF pie crust from BRM, we used a generic all-purpose flour mix. It actually came out a little thick on the bottom, so if you want a thinner crust, just make sure you flatten it pretty thin in the bottom of the pie pan. You will probably have leftover dough, so do with it what you will (mini-pies??)

We made the crust dough and flattened it into an oven-safe glass pie dish, folding the dough just to the edge of the glass dish and cutting off the rest. We made sure to poke holes in the bottom of the crust with a fork so that it didn’t bubble and crack. Bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes before pouring in the pie filling.

A few tips I learned from my momma about pie crusts:

1. You can brush the uncooked pie crust with a mixture of egg and butter before you bake it (and definitely before you put in your pie filling) to give it a bit more crunch and flavor.

2. Wrap the edges of your pie crust with foil when you bake it with the pie filling. This prevents the edges from burning in the oven.

photo 5

Wicked Easy Pumpkin Pie

Here is the original recipe for the pumpkin pie. I’ve made some changes below, as usual. This recipe will fit into a normal-sized pie pan, and actually gives you just enough left over so that you can make a couple of mini-pies (with your leftover crust, or by themselves in a greased ramekin).

Ingredients 

2 C Canned Pumpkin Puree (I’ve just used one 15 oz can and it’s been fine, too, comes to about 1.5 cups)
1.5 C Heavy Cream (Jenee substitutes light coconut milk for cream in hers, lactose-free and just as creamy)
1/2 C Packed Brown Sugar
1/3 C White Sugar
1/2 tsp Salt
2 Eggs, and the Yolk of a third egg
2 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Ground Nutmeg
1/4 tsp Ground Cardamom
Allspice, Pumpkin Pie Spice, if desired (you know I don’t really measure my spices out, I just go with what looks good).

photo 2

Preheat oven to 425. Mix your sugars, salt, and spices in a large bowl. Hand whisk the eggs and add to the bowl. Stir in the pumpkin puree, and whisk until smooth. Stir in heavy cream (or coconut milk), and mix until well combined.

photo 3

Pour into the pie shell until the filling is just barely under the lip of the crust.

photo 4

Cover crust with foil to prevent burning (as shown in photo above), and bake for 15 minutes. Lower the oven temperature to 350, and bake for 40-50 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center of the pie comes out mostly clean.

Cool for at least two hours (we covered it with foil and set it outside if it’s cold enough), or overnight in the fridge. The pie will turn a dark orange, may start to brown on top, and will probably look puffed when you first take it out of the oven, but will flatten and condense as it cools.

This is such an easy and super delicious, rich recipe. We usually serve it cold with whipped cream, or warmed with vanilla ice cream. Either way, it always tastes great. My sister even said it was good, picky eater that she is.

Cheers!

Jen

