Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For Thanksgiving (and let’s be honest, Christmas, too), stuffing is my favorite side dish. This is for multiple reasons: because I don’t usually eat bread of any kind, because I can’t eat regular stuffing, and mostly because it’s just plain delicious (and my mom’s stuffing recipe is easily the best I’ve ever had).

My mom texted me before they got down here for the Holidays and told me that she found some gluten-free stuffing cubes at Whole Foods, and I immediately asked her to make stuffing with them. After that, the week-long wait for my family to get down here was agonizing, guys, really.

So, for you, to share in the deliciousness – my mom’s stuffing recipe – made with Gluten Free stuffing cubes, of course.

Mom’s GF Stuffing

This recipe makes 6-8 servings, depending on how much you eat (I can easily eat 2-3 “servings” at a time… guilty), and fits perfectly into a 1 & 1/4 quart baking dish.

Ingredients

3 C Gluten Free Stuffing Cubes
1/2 C Chopped Celery
1/2 C Chopped Onion
1/2 C Ground Spicy Italian Sausage, browned and drained
1 C Ground Plain (or Breakfast) Sausage, browned and drained
1 Whole Apple, peeled and diced
1/2 C Pre-Cooked Chestnuts, diced
1 T Fresh Sage, chopped
1 T Fresh Thyme, chopped
1/2 T Fresh Rosemary, chopped
1 tsp Dried Thyme
1 tsp Dried Savory
1-2 tsp Dry Rubbed Sage
1.5 C Chicken Broth
2-3 T Melted Butter
1 Slightly Beaten Egg

Preheat oven to 350.

Saute the onion and celery in butter until soft. Add all of your herbs/spices and saute for another 5-7 minutes.

Put your bread cubes into a very large bowl. Add your sauteed onion/celery/herbs mixture, apple, chestnuts and sausage. Mix to combine.

Heat up your chicken broth and butter in the microwave until all butter is melted and the mixture is just warm. Add to your bowl of ingredients and mix very well. Let the mixture sit out and stir occasionally until all of the liquid absorbs into the bread cubes.

Add your slightly beaten egg and mix again. Pour mixture into a greased casserole dish, and dot about 1 T of butter around the top. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes to crisp the top. Serve.

You could also stuff this into a turkey if you’re looking for “real” stuffing – it will work just as well there, but it just won’t crisp up on top. Serve the stuffing alone or with gravy – OR, once the stuffing has baked on its own, wrap about 1 T of stuffing with a piece of uncooked bacon, secure it with a toothpick, bake at 350 for 15 minutes, and eat them that way. All are DELICIOUS ways to eat this stuffing. You can serve up the bacon-wrapped stuffing balls any time of the year, too… I’m thinking as a Superbowl snack!

I sincerely hope you love this stuffing recipe as much as I do.

Cheers!

Jen

