Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Guys, I have a problem. There’s left over icing in the fridge from last night’s Gingerbread House making party. What ever am I going to do?? Make cinnamon rolls? Why, yes, I think I will. (Ok, really my problem is that I can’t stop baking now that we’ve started this blog. Good thing swim-suit season is so far away because I’ve got some serious calories to burn after all of this.)

My mom found this recipe by Nicole Hunn in her Kroger mailer and sent it to me to try. Cinnamon rolls in a muffin tin? GENIUS! You know for sure that they’re going to hold their shape, it’s perfect. The first time I made them, however, I didn’t find them to be exactly like cinnamon rolls, or “buns” as she calls them, so I’ve them into Cinnamon Roll Muffins instead. (But if you are craving something more akin to the traditional gooey-chewy cinnamon rolls, I recommend this recipe by Rachel from Recreating Happiness. She explains in the comments below how gf cinnamon rolls require closer to a 1:1 ratio of flour to starch, which totally makes sense so now I have to make these again to test it out…but not soon. My thighs can’t take it.)

cinnamon roll muffins

 
Ingredients for Muffin Batter:
3 to 3 1/2 cups of gluten-free flour mix (without xanthan gum)
1/2 cup of buckwheat or sorghum flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup of sugar
1/4 teaspoon of salt
6 tablespoons of butter, softened (or shortening)
2 eggs
1 cup of milk (I used Dairy Ease this time)

Ingredients for Cinnamon-Sugar Filling:
1 cup of light brown sugar
2 tablespoons of ground cinnamon
4 tablespoons of melted and cooled butter

Steps:
Preheat the oven to 350 and seriously grease (like a lot) your muffin tin (this recipe is supposed to make 12 rolls, but I always cut mine too big and end up with 9 or 10). In a large bowl mix together 3 cups of your gf flour mix and 1/2 cup of buckwheat or sorghum flour (I used more than a cup of buckwheat flour and the flavor was a little too strong for me so here I cut it back to half a cup, or you could just use only your gluten free flour mix), baking powder, sugar and salt. Add in the softened butter (or shortening, I love shortening in gluten-free baking, I should be the new Crisco spokeswoman), the eggs and milk. Start with a whisk and once the batter starts coming together switch to using a spatula, constantly folding edges into each other. This is an easy way to incorporate your butter/shortening without getting too messy yet (or if you have a fancy stand mixer then go ahead with yo’ bad self). You want your batter to form into a nice, solid ball of dough (like the happy dough above), so if it’s too sticky start adding in that half cup of extra flour, in fourth of a cup increments (every time I’ve made these I’ve actually had to use the full 4 cups of flour, but this will depend on your gluten-free blend since different flours and starches absorb liquid in different ways).

Once you have your happy dough, lay down a large sheet of parchment paper onto your table and flour it well. Dump your dough out onto the parchment paper and begin rolling it out into a giant rectangle, basically the size of your parchment paper, with well-floured hands and rolling pin (or plastic cup, since I still can’t find my rolling pin). In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, and melted butter with your spatula. It’ll make a nice paste which you will spread most of out onto your dough rectangle, leaving enough left over to cover the tops of your muffins.

Now the tricky part. Gentle lift the corner on the long side of your dough rectangle (hotdog not hamburger) and roll it over into itself. Then lift up the parchment paper and use it to gently roll your dough all the way to the other side, into a lovely little log. Flour your parchment paper again, and using the other long side of the parchment paper, roll your log back into the middle so you can cut it into cinnamon rolls. Using a clean, sharp knife slice your log into one-inch rolls (if you can eye-ball measurements better than I can, you’ll get 12 rolls). Place each one cut-side up in your WELL GREASED muffin tin (seriously, grease the hell out of it), and use your remaining cinnamon-sugar filling to cover the tops of them. Into the oven!

You now have 40 minutes to clean up your kitchen. Seriously, you made a mess.

When that delicious smell starts to fill up your house, you’ll get so hungry you better eat a snack, otherwise you might want to eat all of them right out of the oven.

Oh whatcha got there ma?

Oh whatcha got there ma?

Once out of the oven, slather them with icing or glaze, homemade or store bought.

Now, who’s gonna help me finish off these muffins???

