Tags

, , , , ,

HEY EVERYONE! I HAD A GLUTEN FREE BAKING SUCCESS!

Yes, I’m yelling it loud for all the world to hear – ’cause it’s a darn miracle.

I’ve been feeling a little extra bloated and gassy because I’ve been eating a lot more processed and baked goods lately (since I’ve been so determined to bake a decent gluten free cookie). But alas, I found this recipe on Pinterest and thought that I would give the whole GF baking thing one last try. I made some of my own changes and substitutions, naturally.

I gave up (for now) on “discovering” my own GF flour mix and just made Silvana’s – which Jenee swears by. No weighing necessary for this mixture – just follow the recipe and whisk all ingredients together. Super easy peasy and immediately ready for baking.

Chocolate Peppermint Biscotti

This recipe (half of the original) makes about 15 Biscotti. They crisp and crumble well, and are not super sweet – but biscotti aren’t supposed to be.

Ingredients

1 C Gluten Free All Purpose Flour (WITH Xanthan gum. 1/4 tsp for each cup you use is a general rule)
1/4 C Unsweetened Baking Cocoa
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
3 Tb Vegetable Oil Shortening
1/2 C White Sugar
1 Egg
1/2 tsp Peppermint Extract
1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/2 C Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (I used mini ones)
Confectioner’s Sugar
White Chocolate Chips for Dipping (optional)
Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips for Drizzling (optional)

BiscottiIngredients

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper or a baking mat.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.

BiscottiMix

With an electric mixer, beat the shortening and sugar until mixed well. Add your egg and extracts and mix until well-combined.

Slowly mix in your flour – a very stiff dough will form. Mix in your chocolate chips until well combined.

Flour your hands and roll the dough into a log form – about 12 inches long and 2 inches wide (it definitely looks… interesting). Sprinkle with however much confectioner’s sugar you want.

Biscotti3

Bake for 30 minutes, or until fairly firm to the touch. Remove from the oven and let cook for 5-10 minutes.

Transfer your “log” to a cutting board and cut it diagonally into 1/2 to 3/4 inch slices. Place your newly cut biscotti back onto your baking sheet and bake for about 10 more minutes – or until crisp. Cool.

Biscotti4

If you want to dip or drizzle your biscotti – just melt your chocolate of choice and dip/drizzle away (I use the microwave, heating white chocolate in 10 second intervals and milk chocolate in 20 second intervals).

I would suggest letting your biscotti sit overnight, or at least for 3-4 hours, to let your chocolate harden. These would be fabulous dipped in milk, coffee or hot chocolate for the holidays!

FinishedBiscotti

When I make these again (after the holidays, and after my belly settles down), I think I’ll attempt a non-chocolate, vanilla version and a regular chocolate version. I bet they would be delicious dipped in milk chocolate and rolled in slivered almonds – those were always my favorite kind of biscotti.

Three cheers for my baking success! Now, chicken and sweet potatoes as a detox dinner. My poor system can’t handle all of this baking business (even if it is finally delicious).

Jen

