Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Marco had a potluck event for one of his law school groups and kept dropping hints about the “potluck” piece. (I really love cooking so as soon as I heard him say “potluck” I was already planning something, knowing there was no way in hell he’d actually bring a dish, but I like picking on him. He does it to me so there.) Being that it was for the latin american law student association, I thought “mmmm spicy!” Marco doesn’t like spicy things so it’s not very often that I get to “kick things up a notch,” as Emeril would say. I don’t know how I found this on pinterest (does one ever?), but I did. And I had seen jalapeños for ridiculously cheap at the market the week before, so win. Here’s how to very easily make them gluten free:

Cornbread, Jalapenos, Cheese

Cornbread, Jalapenos, Cheese

Ingredients:
1 dozen jalapeños
1 batch of cornbread batter, but with 3/4 cup of buttermilk instead of 1 cup
1 bag of shredded cheese

Steps:
Number One Rule: Don’t get chemical burns on your hands and face. I’m not joking. See, I love jalapeños. To me, their not really that spicy. Every once in a while you might get a good one, but for the most part I find them pretty mild. So, not thinking twice, I bring my bag of market jalapeños over to the chopping board, and I proceed to slice them in half and remove the seeds, placing them on a sheet pan with parchment paper (oven at 400 degrees). I scratch my cheek, I rub my nose as it starts to run…I scratch near my eyes which are starting to water…I start singing in the kitchen Alicia Keys’ “this girl is on fiyaaaa” as Marco makes very confused faces. See, these jalapeños were clearly mutant habañeros masquerading as jalapeños. I literally had chemical burns on my hands and face, which turned red and swelled in all the spots I had touched. I’m not exaggerating, ask Marco. It was bad.

But my cornbread-stuffed jalapeños turned out great! After whisking together my cornbread mix (with less buttermilk so that the batter will hold up better in the jalapeños), I used a spoon to scoop cornbread into each jalapeño half, sprinkled with shredded cheese, and popped ’em in the oven for about 15 minutes (until lightly browned and bubbly and delicious). Marco carted them off to his meeting, apparently a stray seed set someone else’s mouth on fire but other than that it was great! (And I made them again another day with normal jalapeños, much better.) So, moral of the story, taste test your jalapeños first (or have someone you don’t like do it). And maybe use gloves if you don’t want your hands to burn for days after. But they’re really tasty, I swear!

