Tags

, , , ,

We love Mexican food in this household.

I thought it I was going to have to give it all up when I figured out that I could no longer have flour tortillas… but then I “discovered” corn (I know, I’m a little slow), which we now use for everything.

Tonight, we made super easy shrimp tacos. There are a few different parts to our taco-making process, but all in all, our tacos are super quick and really delicious.

Part 1: Michael’s Taco Mix

When we lived in Boston, we would go over to our friends’ apartment and watch Monday Night Football every week. We would also usually have dinner there. One night, our friend Michael made us tacos, and I proceeded to watch him whip together a super easy, mind blowing taco topping that I will never forget!

See, we always did tacos one way in my house – cheese, guacamole, salsa, mexican rice, lettuce, ground beef. Insert said ingredients into flour tortilla, eat. Pretty tasty, and all I knew outside of Taco Bell.

Well, that Monday night at our friends’ place changed my life. Seriously. I no longer put rice or guacamole or salsa on my tacos. I put Michael’s taco mix on them.

I remember asking him what he put in his heavenly mix, and he said he didn’t remember – he just “makes it”. I have been trying to recreate it for awhile now, and I think I’m close – but I at least want to give him credit where credit is due – hence the name.

Ingredients

1/4 Red Onion, finely chopped
4 Garlic Cloves, finely chopped
Juice of 1/2 lime
2/3 C Shredded Lettuce
Garlic Salt/Pepper (I use Paula Deen’s House Seasoning)

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl and let sit for a few minutes to meld flavors.

MichaelLeeTacoMix

Step 2: Homemade Hard Taco Shells

We usually just buy the hard corn taco shells that come in a box. Lately, though, we’ve been trying to use the soft corn tortillas we have (since we always have a ton in the fridge) – so we’ve started to make our own hard shells or mini bowls.

All you need to do is preheat the oven to 350, grab a muffin pan and some soft corn tortillas.

Just mold the soft corn tortilla (right out of the fridge. No steaming necessary to soften them) into the space between four of the muffin bumps and stick it in the oven for 12-15 minutes or until the edges of the tortilla are beginning to brown. They come out more like bowl-shell hybrids – not quite bowls… but not super skinny like taco shells. This actually turns out great, since they end up holding more yummy food than regular taco shells.

HomemadeHardTacoShells

Side note: if you mess these guys up like I did on the first try, they make really great tortilla chips!

OopsChips

Step 3: Tacos!

We use shrimp most often in our tacos because they are so quick to cook, but have also used ground beef, fajita veggies, chicken, fish… etc. You can add whatever your Mexican-food-loving heart desires to yours!

We like to garnish our tacos with Michael’s Taco Mix (obviously), sour cream, cheese and Tapatio – my favorite stuff. Delicioso, and super simple.

Tapatio ShrimpTacos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adios!

Jen

